Thread: Flickering screen and unable to install

Beans

Flickering screen and unable to install

Hi,

First of all I have to apologize for my English, it's not good but I hope you can understand me. I'm absolutely new in Ubuntu, I have several years of experience in Windows and also in Mac but it's the first time I try to install any Linux distribution.

I downloaded the 9.10 from the Ubuntu website (not as torrent, but as direct download) and I burnt the ISO image in a CD. I intruduced the CD in the computer where I want to install Ubuntu and I rebooted it.

Then the Ubuntu install-try menu appeared. I chose "try" and appeared a white ubuntu logo fading in and out, and then some text that was like the boot up of Ubuntu. In that point, the screen starts flickering every second, and when I push the power-off button of my computer it stops flickering and says something like "you pressed power off - please remove the CD and close the tray", and then the computer shuts down.

The same happens when I choose Install. At the point it appears a progress number (0%) of the file system, the screen starts flickering and the progress it seems it stops, or at less it's extremely slow.

My computer it's a bit old but I think that's not the problem. It's a Pentium IV at 3'40Ghz, 1GB of RAM and what seems to have the problem, a Nvidia Quadro 256MB graphics card (I don't know the exact model but if you need it I can find it).

Thanks in advance

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: Flickering screen and unable to install

how long do you wait until you press the power button ? give it some time .... the flickering is normal !

Beans

No, it wasn't normal... I waited for a long time.

Anyway, I tried some minutes ago to install it again and I don't know how it didn't flicker and it started the installation assistant. I chose to remove the Windows partition and format it all Ubuntu, and the installation said to "finish succesfully".