Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    34

    Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    Hello, brand new user (I registered awhile back, and dabbled, but am now going all in), and installed Ubuntu 9.10 onto a seperate HD, HD0 being my XP install, HD1 the Ubuntu. After installation, Grub seems to not see my XP install? Any thoughts on how to clear this up? I need my XP for multiple reasons.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Inglis, Florida
    Beans
    734
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    First thing I'd do is to open Applications > Accessories > Terminal and type
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    If that doesn't work, post the output to see if it might tell us something.
    Give me a stable operating system, and I will make it unstable

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    34

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    Tried that, it doesn't seem to work, where would I find the output, or do you mean the following...

    Generating grub.cfg ...
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-17-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-17-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
    Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    done

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    Try to install grub2..maybe it can fix the problem..

    go to terminal and type:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install grub2
    then, try to update the grub

    Code:
    sudo update-grub2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    34

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    Seems to me Ubuntu is having troubles mounting the volume (I can't see the NTFS partition, and as I understand it, I should). I think I need to run chkdsk /f out of windows, but that's just it, can't get to windows. trying to think of a way to get to even DOS just to run the command on the volume.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Beans
    1,334
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    Okay- rather than updating, lets try a re-install of Grub.

    Grab a liveCD and boot to it.

    In a terminal, type this;

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l

    it should output something like this:
    Code:
    tom@ubuntu-karmic:~$ sudo fdisk -l
    [sudo] password for tom: 
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x98000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1           8       64228+  de  Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2               9        1314    10485760    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3   *        1315       11904    85064175    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4           11905       38913   216949792+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5           19233       19558     2618595   dd  Unknown
    /dev/sda6           11905       18723    54773554+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda7           18724       19232     4088511   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda8           22979       24571    12795741   83  Linux
    /dev/sda9           24572       36181    93257293+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    tom@ubuntu-karmic:~$
    What you need to do is mount each of your partitions that you need to boot from, using this output.

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sdXY /mnt
    where XY is each partition, for example sda2, sdb3,
    You need to mount EVERY partition that you have an OS on.

    As a reference, in my output, I would mount sda3, sda6, and sda8.

    After that, you need to install Grub:
    Code:
    sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sdX
    where X is the main drive that you use. Probably sda.


    After it runs, you should be all set!
    Last edited by tom.swartz07; April 13th, 2010 at 02:15 PM.
    Java Guide Media support Flash x64 Grub2 Get Dropbox! My Look! RSync Twitter

    "Windows 7 was my idea"- I guess Microsoft enjoys copyright infringement?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    74

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_l...rst.htm?page=5

    Head there, scroll down to the pic that says END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST. This page shows you how to edit the GRUB and add Windows XP manually. Should work just fine, done it many times. It does say Vista on the site, but it works with XP as well.

    If possible, use the original GRUB, not Grub2. I believe Grub2 makes it a little harder, or trickier, or something like that, to edit the file.
    Last edited by mattbutsko; January 14th, 2010 at 03:59 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Beans
    889
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    I wouldn't do anything with windows yet.
    Post the output from the terminal of:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Gary

    A wise man knows what he doesn't know.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    34

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    here is my output

    devilham@devilham-ubuntu-desktop:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xd0d2d0d2

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 30400 244187968+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sdb: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xd14cd14c

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 29319 235504836 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 29320 30401 8691165 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 29320 30401 8691133+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    34

    Re: Configuring Grub to see my XP install

    This is what I get when I try to mount the volume through the terminal

    devilham@devilham-ubuntu-desktop:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt

    ntfs_attr_pread_i: ntfs_pread failed: Input/output error
    Failed to read NTFS $Bitmap: Input/output error
    NTFS is either inconsistent, or there is a hardware fault, or it's a
    SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
    then reboot into Windows twice. The usage of the /f parameter is very
    important! If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate
    it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
    /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
    for more details.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •