Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Raid help - i messed up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Raid help - i messed up

    Went to back up my raid. Before backing up my data I started to format my external HD. Opened GParted selected HD and deleted the partition and applied the changes. Here is the mistake, selected the wrong HD I selected my RAID. After I applied the changes I could still access my data, up until I rebooted my server.

    I'm using mdadm for the RAID.

    Help, Please.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Raid help - i messed up

    bump

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,571
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Raid help - i messed up

    I assume you have three or more drives in the array. Likely the md within the kernel doesn't like what it sees. Try this:

    Code:
    sudo mdadm --assemble --scan
    That should bring the array up in a degraded condition with it automatically bringing the re-formatted drive back in.

    If that doesn't work, make sure that drive can be added back into the array:

    Code:
    sudo mdadm /dev/md[nn] --add /dev/sd[nn]
    Let us know how you are doing.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q33WB, Intel i7-4790K 4.6GHz, SSDs,32G RAM | Dell Laptop 13.3".
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP/Win10 running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Raid help - i messed up

    no this is a raid 1 with two 1.5 TB drives. i will try your suggestions tonight.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,571
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Raid help - i messed up

    Okay, you should be able to get it working again without data loss.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q33WB, Intel i7-4790K 4.6GHz, SSDs,32G RAM | Dell Laptop 13.3".
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP/Win10 running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    949

    Re: Raid help - i messed up

    I had mdadm running on two disks in RAID 1 as well. The problem was, their filenodes kept changing and so that messed up the array configuration (it ended up splitting into two degraded arrays or sometimes just not working at all). I had to force stop both arrays, then create a new one. That seemed to solve it, though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    82
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Raid help - i messed up

    I rolled back to an off site back up I had it was a couple of months old but I rolled back to this and moved on with my life

    thanks for all the help!!!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •