Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    19

    Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    Hello,

    I've just installed ubuntu 2 days ago and so far I love it. Mysterious networking problem though. PC connects via a router - other machine on network having no problems and no problems with this machine when I'm on the windoze side of the partition. The first couple of times i used ubuntu, net connection worked perfectly. Since then, it can't cope if the browser is trying to load a page that takes longer than a second or two. So a google search will work fine, but then to actually visit a site, it'll just load about 15%, then say 'waiting for www.whatever.com' and stay like that until i get very bored and switch it off. Same problem downloading new software - will do first few seconds fine, then gets stuck. No error message ever comes up. The browser doesn't actually freeze or crash, it's just losing it's connection and patiently waiting for it to come back.

    Sometimes I'll boot up and it's all working normally. I'm pretty sure it's got something to do with the eth0 profile, but idon't know what that is, nor how to alter it, and there are no alternative profiles in the dialogue box that I could try switching to. Help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    "MTU" is my latest favorite villain to attack. This thread might help...
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    Are you connecting to the router via cable? Any switch/hub in the way? Any wireless?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    19

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    Yes, cable. No switches, just the cable modem and then the router.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    The output of
    Code:
    ifconfig
    will help - also the output of
    Code:
    ping ip.of.your.router -c 1 -s 1400 -M do
    and
    Code:
    ping ip.of.your.router -c 1 -s 1501 -M do

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Beans
    679
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    can you do
    Code:
    ping localhost

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    19

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    ifconfig eth0
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f3:85:4f:44
    inet addr:192.168.2.4 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::218:f3ff:fe85:4f44/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1517 errors:48 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:48
    TX packets:1521 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:758411 (758.4 KB) TX bytes:242589 (242.5 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0xdead

    I have a very dim and hazy understanding of these things, so that lot doesn't mean much to me at all. Thanks for your help! If you guys weren't out there happy to help, i think i'd be running back to windoze!

    It seems the problem must be in the communication with the router. Roughly one boot in every ten, it all works fine. Three boots in ten, it works for some stuff (ie it will let me read my gmail, but not load a 'fatter' web page), and four boots in ten it hardly works at all as I described in my first post. So this is to do with packet size, yes?

    Also, sometimes once connected, the icon at the top right comes up as 'auto eth0' and sometimes it comes up as 'wired network 1'.

    Could this be to do with the router ascribing a different address on each boot?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    There are receive errors showing. This should pretty much never happen on an ethernet cable. Can you try a different cable and use a different port on the router?

    Don't forget to post the ping commands output

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    19

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    dan@dan-desktop:~$ ping ip.of.your.router -c 1 -s 1400 -M do
    ping: unknown host ip.of.your.router
    dan@dan-desktop:~$ ping ip.of.your.router -c 1 -s 1501 -M do
    ping: unknown host ip.of.your.router
    dan@dan-desktop:~$ ping localhost
    PING localhost (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.041 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.035 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.036 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.039 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.039 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=0.039 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=0.039 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=0.038 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms
    64 bytes from localhost (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=0.040 ms


    It just kept running the ping localhost. Have pasted in the first 15

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    19

    Re: Help! New to Ubuntu, eth0 doing my nut!

    Can't be an issue with the cable, as I'm using the same machine to write this, just on the windows side.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •