Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Grub2 mount windows iso

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    80

    Grub2 mount windows iso

    Is there a way to mount a windows-xp.iso image from grub2 to not to have to burn the cd?

    I know burning a cd is not so much cost, but i thought mounting images from grub would be great, but i crashed on first round.
    After some tries, i discovered all the examples I found are about mounting linux images, but not windows images. Is there any restriction?

    My last entry in /etc/grub.d/35_Windows_ISO is as:

    Code:
    #! /bin/sh -e
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Windows ISO" {
    loopback loop (hd0,1)/SOSEG.iso
    chainloader (loop)
    }
    and after sudo update-grub, i reboot, and there is a new line in grub menu, but it says no such file '' when entering.

    Perhaps i can only do it with Linux images, but i have not found anyone saying so...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    80

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    Sorry, i have not explained the first attempt:
    Code:
    #! /bin/sh -e
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Windows ISO" {
    set root=(hd0,1)
    loopback loop /SOSEG.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/SOSEG.iso
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    and it says: You have to load the kernel first

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    Me too would like to know is there a way to do so..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    hello

    i'm interted too
    what i'm trying (in command mode)
    loopback loop (hd0,1)/myfile.iso
    root (loop)
    chainloader
    ->error: nofile specified
    chainloader (loop)
    ->error: invalid file name `'

    I'm reading this (http://mgerards.net/blog/?cat=4) but it's only for unix iso

    Do you know this ?
    http://members.iinet.net/~herman54/p20/GRUB2 CLI Mode Commands.html
    Last edited by ggcom; January 24th, 2010 at 11:32 PM. Reason: more information

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    17

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    I'm interested too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    hmm sorry...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Rosebud, Vic, Australia,
    Beans
    169
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    I saw this done on Hak5 a while ago,
    http://michael-prokop.at/blog/2009/0...iso-via-grub2/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    thanks a lot
    i'm going to read it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    I'm not an expert on the matter, but i've tried doing something similar to this. It will be very hard if not impossible to get the windows XP ISO to loop mount with grub. In order for ISO's to loop mount in grub2 they have to be built a certain way.

    Why are you trying to loop mount the ISO?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    80

    Re: Grub2 mount windows iso

    Uff. I am sorry, but I was not ever successful on this, and I gave up.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •