Thread: Hauppauge HD-PVR, MythTV, VCR Setup Question

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Hauppauge HD-PVR, MythTV, VCR Setup Question

I've just gotten an HD-PVR (and updated the firmware to 1.5.6) and just installed MythTV on my 9.10 linux (which I'm a newbie with) and I've been reading the MythTV user manual and pages and the Ubuntu forums for the last 6 hours so I'm a bit burnt. I have installed ivtv and the last three lines of dmesg says:
    Code:
    [174371.691347] hdpvr 2-2:1.0: untested firmware version 0x12, the driver might not work
    [174372.001752] hdpvr 2-2:1.0: device now attached to /dev/video0
    [182369.949728]  CIFS VFS: Unexpected lookup error -26
    I only want to plug my VCR into the HD-PVR (using the front composite and audio connectors) and digitize a lot of old tapes. There is no (digital) antennea (or anything else) plugged into the vcr. When I try to setup MythTV input sources, it only seems to care about TV tuners and cable/satellite boxes. I don't even know if what I'm trying to do will work.

I start the tape playing and at the terminal I do and get:
    Code:
    me@melinux:~$ cat /dev/video0 > test.ts
    cat: /dev/video0: Input/output error
    I'm assuming this means the vid/audio signal isn't even reaching MythTV (although the MythTV backend is running - I assume, because it has a PID when I do ps -A). I try:
    Code:
    sudo killall mythbackend
    but it apparently just restarts with a different pid.
    I started MyhTV-setup and that kills the backend, so while setup is running, I do another cat /dev/video0 > test.ts but still get the input/output error
    Can anyone tell me if I can do what I'm trying to do (setup mythTV without access to a tv tuner)?
    Any hints on making the input/output error go away (assuming this is the thing to start troubleshooting)?
    I appreciate any help anyone can offer.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr