Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Apple time capsule

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    112

    Apple time capsule

    Hey all

    I am trying to connect to an Apple time capsule in karmic koala. I have seen a few posts about it but none seem to help

    This thread says to do the following

    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/"Melon's Time Capsule"/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    This didnt work and kept giving me mount error 6 so I renamed the time capsule to 'timecapsule' and tried the following without spaces and 's

    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/timecapsule/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    Still mount error 6, so tried a few variations until I got to

    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    Which actually ran without error, plus it seemed to mount the folder. Go into /media/capsule and its empty also right click and properties and it seems to figure out the correct used / free space, but cant see any of the actual contents?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    112

    Re: Apple time capsule

    Anyone?

    Also noticed if I use fstab and mount it with write perms I can create files / folders, which will show up if I view the TC on another mac, but wont show up if I mount another linux machine.

    I thought it might be file perms but the perms and owner are no different to the other files on there. Totally stuck, anyone got this working?

    All the articles and posts I can find on it say to do the following method
    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/"Melon's Time Capsule"/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    which just gives me mount error 6 everytime

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Apple time capsule

    Quote Originally Posted by mortuk View Post
    Hey all

    I am trying to connect to an Apple time capsule in karmic koala. I have seen a few posts about it but none seem to help

    This thread says to do the following

    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/"Melon's Time Capsule"/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    This didnt work and kept giving me mount error 6 so I renamed the time capsule to 'timecapsule' and tried the following without spaces and 's

    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/timecapsule/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    Still mount error 6, so tried a few variations until I got to

    Code:
    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.0.231/Data /media/capsule -o pass=xxxx
    Which actually ran without error, plus it seemed to mount the folder. Go into /media/capsule and its empty also right click and properties and it seems to figure out the correct used / free space, but cant see any of the actual contents?
    I have the same problem! I cant see any contents of my TimeCapsule, but I can see the space properties of it... any ideas to resolve this problem?
    thnx

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    112

    Re: Apple time capsule

    I still haven't solved this, any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    out west
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Apple time capsule

    I'm having a similar problem, when I try to mount my Time Capsule.

    I issue the following command in terminal:

    [INDENT]sudo mount.cifs //192.168.1.1/My Time Capsule/Ubuntu /media/timecapsule -o pass=mypassword[/INDENT]

    Terminal promptly gives me a
    >

    And, if I switch to /media/timecapsule the directory is empty.

    I'm a clueless newbie, so please temper your responses

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Apple time capsule

    Yeah.. I have the exact same problem, and have had it for a while now.. not found any way around it though

    Anyone got any ideas at all?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Beans
    40

    Re: Apple time capsule

    I'm using this fstab entry to successfully mount my TimeCapsule using Lucid server.

    //10.0.1.1/TimeCapsule /media/timecapsule cifs password=password,noserverino,iocharset=utf8,file_ mode=0777,dir_mode=0777 0 0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Apple time capsule

    This is the page I followed to connect my time capsule and lucid.

    http://www.organicdesign.co.nz/Conne...a_time_capsule


    sudo mount.cifs //10.0.1.1/Time_Capsule/ /media/capsule -o pass=xxxxxxxxx

    The hardest thing for me was the name after the IP address. Using AirPort Utility select the time capsule, and select manual setup. The very top row of icons, one is labeled "Disks" selected it. Now we have selected the Disk icon, make sure you are on the Disks tab, and it should show you a small folder tree; my top option is Time Capsule Disk, Then below that it says Time_Capsule, select that one. Now to the right you have a name field you can change. I changed mine so it still has caps, but I removed the space and added and under score. This is the name that should be placed behind the IP address.

    I hope this helps some of you out their.

    Now I still having troubles getting the time_capsule to automatically mount when the system turns on. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Apple time capsule

    Hi,

    I understand this is rare problem, but I installed Mythbuntu on an old Dell Inspiron Laptop a few days ago to use it as a home media center. Thus, I wanted to mount my TimeCapsule from the system so to be able to stream the video from a hdd attached to the TC.

    I have to say that I was hardly able to install any programs since I am a spoiled Mac user :>
    I don't know how to make an actual program out of the downloadable source code of a twitter app, for instance.

    Now I finally managed to follow the instructions found in an archived thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=670535) and (allegedly) successfully mounted my TC. I don't know how to edit fstab so I first used the other method, like,

    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.178.22/"Capsule"/ /media/capsule -o pass=password

    which persistently returned an error, so I tried

    sudo mount_afp afp://root:"Pass"@192.168.178.22/EXT/Data /media/capsule

    which seemed to have worked. "EXT" is the actual folder on my TC which I learned has to be entered INSTEAD of just the name of the TC.
    Well, since this looked like it had worked (when trying again, I got an error telling me the drive was already mounted on /media/capsule), the folder /capsule I had created before wasn't there any more and no data showed up.
    Now, after a night of sleep, I tried it again using

    sudo mount.cifs //192.168.178.22/CapsuleFolder/ /media -o pass=password

    which got me into my desired folder. I'm currently streaming video, but several questions are still unanswered for me (apart from the work I see in front of me because I think I finally really have to learn the general system commands).

    1) I don't have writing privileges. Is it right I can get them by using an fstab command?
    2) How can I use the aforementioned fstab to not have to mount the TC every time again, which means: How can I edit any friggin' file on my system. Is it possible without downloading much additional software (I only installed mythbuntu 10.04 via CD and run the Updater which installed a bunch of updates, then smbfs and smbclient)?
    3 (which actually belongs in another section) The OS seems to be pretty slim. Since there only is Firefox showing up in the network category of xfce, I assume I need to install anything I want to use other than a basic file manager (thunar) and a browser, right?

    You see, I'm a complete noob since I aborted my several tries to understand Linux starting in 1999...so thank you very much in advance!
    Max

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    1

    Question Re: Apple time capsule

    Hi,
    I actually had the same issue until I figured out, that I am having a different Username on the time capsule than on my Linux.

    sudo mount.cifs //Networkaddress/(Name of the time capsules disk)/ /media/foldername -o username="username" pass=password

    Please note,
    >Networkaddress is the IP you can reach the timecapsule within your network
    > do not use the () and also not the TimeCapsules name but the HDD installed in the time capsule
    > foldername can be anything what you have created inside media folder
    > username, use " " in case you have something like "John Doe"

    So bottomline, the description of all members above are fine but missing the USERNAME... may this helps for you too.

    cheers
    GeneRalf

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •