Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: About installing router and DHCP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    2,124

    About installing router and DHCP

    Hi all,

    Host - Ubuntu 12.04
    VM - Ubuntu 12.04
    Virtualizer - Oracle VirtualBox

    I'm prepared installing router and DHCP server. Can I install them on a VM instead on the Host? I expect keeping the Host clean only for running Oracle VirtualBox.

    Tutorial:-

    Router
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Router


    DHCP server:
    Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP)
    https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/serverguide/dhcp.html

    Setting up a DHCP server on Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise Pangolin) server
    http://lani78.com/2012/07/23/setting...ngolin-server/

    Please advise. Thanks

    Rgds
    satimis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    You could, but if you are going to have it exposed to the internet, I wouldn't virtualize it.

    Is this going to be your gateway to the internet or server another purpose?
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    2,124

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    You could, but if you are going to have it exposed to the internet, I wouldn't virtualize it.

    Is this going to be your gateway to the internet or server another purpose?
    Hi,

    Thanks for your advice.

    I'm going to subscribe FTTH (Fibre-to-the-home) fibre optic broadband.
    100M/100M up/down
    Static IP

    The new ISP shall not provide router. I have only 2 PCs, both running virtualization and each with 10 VMs installed. The local websites are only mirror of the websites hosted on Godaddy.

    I'm going to install a router and DHCP server on a VM, if it is possible. I expect to learn how to build them. If failure I'll buy a gigabit router, 1 WAN and 4-ports

    satimis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Just buy a gigabit router and save yourself the headache.

    Otherwise get a dedicated box and run something like pfSense, or Untangle or one of the other *BSD based firewalll/router distros.

    I've used pfSense.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    S.H.I.E.L.D. 6-1-6
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    Just buy a gigabit router and save yourself the headache.

    Otherwise get a dedicated box and run something like pfSense, or Untangle or one of the other *BSD based firewalll/router distros.

    I've used pfSense.
    side note: _test_ with pfSense carefully on KVM (download at full speed for a while),and check its cpu usage. In some computers, pfSense has a CPU Usage issue where network traffic is causing heavy cpu usage, which makes it basically useless because there is a correlation between download speed and cpu usage
    Last edited by sandyd; February 24th, 2014 at 08:00 AM.
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by sandyd View Post
    side note: _test_ with pfSense carefully on KVM (download at full speed for a while),and check its cpu usage. In some computers, pfSense has a CPU Usage issue where network traffic is causing heavy cpu usage
    Agreed. I'd rather run it on a dedicated box than virtualized tbh.

    There are some hardware vendors listed on their site.
    http://www.pfsense.org/hardware/index.html
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    2,124

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Hi all,

    I found following documents which are quite interesting to me:

    1)
    Notes/Virtual Linux Router with VirtualBox
    http://wiki.smalleycreative.com/Note...ith_VirtualBox

    2)
    Tutorials:Using Linux Virtual Machine instead of router for VPN
    http://wiki.hidemyass.com/Tutorials:...router_for_VPN

    3)
    Creating a Virtual Network of Linux Guests using VirtualBox
    http://sandilands.info/sgordon/creat...ing-virtualbox

    I haven't gone through all of them deeply. On 3) it seems needing 3 NICs?

    satimis

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    12,579
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Personally I'd just dig up some junky machine, add a network interface and Linux, and use iptables and isc-dhcp-server. I've run such routers on i386 machines with as little as 64 MB of RAM.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    2,124

    Re: About installing router and DHCP

    Quote Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
    Personally I'd just dig up some junky machine, add a network interface and Linux, and use iptables and isc-dhcp-server. I've run such routers on i386 machines with as little as 64 MB of RAM.
    Hi,

    I don't expect running too many PCs at home. I only have 2 PCs, a daily working PC and a spare/backup PC, each running VirtualBox with 10 VMs installed. The spare/backup PC is NOT running all the day.

    If I can install a router on a VM of the working PC then I don't need to have a physical router running all the day. When I need to run the spare/backup PC I just turn it on. Then it can access Internet via the routing on pfSense on the VM of the working PC. (pfSense can run on VM of VirtualBox. I have made some search on their forum. pfSense is BSD base. I have spare Gigabit NIC resting on shelves)

    I still have time to explore before purchasing a physical router. The new contract for Fibre Optic network connection will start on the coming April 8. I have made search on router. My 1st selection will be;
    NetGear N600 Wireless Dual Band Router WNDR3400 specs
    http://reviews.cnet.com/routers/netg...-34169558.html

    Cable router is phasing out, difficult to find a cable router with openwrt support

    Rgds
    satimis

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •