Thread: nVidia 190 driver seems to cure "screen flash" problems

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

nVidia 190 driver seems to cure "screen flash" problems

Hi,

I'm new to Ubuntu and Linux (just a couple of days experience), so please forgive if this post states the obvious to those of you who have more know-how about these things than I do.

I've been trying to install an nVidia driver for my GeForce Go 7600 that doesn't keep giving me continuous "screen flashes" every so often. Have tried just about every driver suggested, but all had the same problem. I think I may have finally cured it, so am posting this in case it might help others faced with the same problem...

nVidia GeForce Go 7600

Used the Ubuntu Hardware Drivers utility to remove any existing nVidia drivers
    Rebooted
    Downloaded "NVIDIA-Linux-x86-190.42-pkg1.run" onto my Desktop from the link via the Debian web site
    Entered (Ctrl-Alt-F1) to get a terminal screen
    Logged in using my normal name and password
    Typed "cd Desktop" to change directory to my Desktop
    Typed "sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop" to turn off the Gnome Display Manager (and ignored the suggestions)
    Typed "sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-190.42-pkg1.run" to run the installer
    (it automatically built the kernel etc.)
    (Chose the automatic configuration option)
    Typed "sudo reboot" to reboot the computer
    System rebooted, lots of messages that I don't understand...
    BUT...

So far (touch wood) system looks great, seems rock solid, and not a single "nVidia screen flash" has happened!!

Hope that might help someone

Beans

Re: nVidia 190 driver seems to cure "screen flash" problems

but it asks stop xserver ......... and i dint get how to install plugins....... when i try to play *.mp3 files .... its not takin automatic download from net.....?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Quote Originally Posted by anupsg View Post