Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Question How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    I have a problem with the make command. When I use it, it has two errors (that is all I understand, and the output is too long to post). I am trying to compile the widget factory, several drivers, and other other things like that. I always follow the tutorials on this step by step, but I still have this problem. Do I have a missing package? I this not the problem at all, or am I using it wrong? I usually use it like this:

    make
    or

    make install
    I DO use the ./configure command before I do this. I read that you will get errors if you don't use it. I will occasionally get an error from this too, but not often. I am doing the commands in the directory that the source files are in, and usually under sudo bash.

    I know it is a very simple question, but I only recently started using Linux, and I am just learning the terminal.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ellensburg, WA
    Beans
    1,441
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    Do the errors show that something isn't found?

    If so, install the package (or similar package) that it mentions. Sometimes you gotta search hard. Wish make would auto-get the required packages to be honest.

    Also, if you're making an i386 program on amd64, remember to install ia32-libs-dev

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    How do Install that package?

    And the errors just say "ERROR 1" and "ERROR 2". Nothing else.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    Quote Originally Posted by coldReactive View Post
    Wish make would auto-get the required packages to be honest.
    if the application is in the repos, you can:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get build-dep package-name

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ellensburg, WA
    Beans
    1,441
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    Quote Originally Posted by sisco311 View Post
    if the application is in the repos, you can:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get build-dep package-name
    How about gnome2-globalmenu?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    Quote Originally Posted by user333 View Post
    How do Install that package?

    And the errors just say "ERROR 1" and "ERROR 2". Nothing else.
    please post a link to the app and the exact error message.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    well, this isn't in the repositories. Thats why I am trying to compile it. What about gnome2-globalmenu?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    OK, just a second.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    183
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    Here is the widget factory and I think the driver(I am having trouble with attachments). I am unable to post the error message. I don't want to publish my name. Here is just a few part of it:

    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    And so on. For the widget factory, it doesn't show the error 1 and 2 message, but it doesn't work.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ellensburg, WA
    Beans
    1,441
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How do I use the "make" command? Always shows up errors! Karmic

    make clean

    then make again, see if you get the error then.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •