Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Get started with MySql

Beans

Get started with MySql

Anyone got any recommendations for getting started with MySql. I've had some experience with MSSql Server.
    Ubuntu User number is # 33337, Linux Registered User #531864, Boot info script, Wireless info script

Beans

Re: Get started with MySql

Install it and head over to the mysql.com site and click on the Developer link and the documentation section.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by defkewl

Thanks. I've been there, and it is generally useful. I'm really looking for a small tutorial like article to get me started. Some that goes through an install, how to configure the Administrator, start/stop service, and setup an existing database.
    Ubuntu User number is # 33337, Linux Registered User #531864, Boot info script, Wireless info script

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

http://www.devshed.com/c/a/MySQL/Beg...ySQL-Tutorial/

Although MySQL is often touted as a great beginner SQL database system (and I agree), be aware of SQLite (good for templating and simple stuff) and Postgres (for when you start _really_ learning SQL).

dataw0lf
    -
    About Me
    Joshua "stderr / dataw0lf" Simpson, CCIE R&S and Security, RHCE

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by dataw0lf
    http://www.devshed.com/c/a/MySQL/Beg...ySQL-Tutorial/

Although MySQL is often touted as a great beginner SQL database system (and I agree), be aware of SQLite (good for templating and simple stuff) and Postgres (for when you start _really_ learning SQL).

dataw0lf

Thanks dataw0lf!

I'm ok with sql, I work with MS SqlServer, access, and I have done some work (a while back) on Oracle. So using the command-line for sql is now almost forgotten.

Firebird looks ok too....

Beans

Getting started with MySQL is really easy. First you want to install the mysql server. Then you can start the server with this command:

Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/mysql start