Thread: Problem booting up computer

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Problem booting up computer

My computer is giving me fits and I wondered if anyone can help. I'm running Ubuntu 8.04 LTS and I've been very pleased with it until now.

I had a power outtage at my house not long ago. Since then, my computer has had a rough time on boot up.

The check disk function runs and produces a long list of error messages too numerous to write down or even read.

Here is a sample: "dev/sda5 contains a file system with errors." Also this, "Inodes that were part of a corrupt orphan link list found," and "an automatic file system check of the root system failed." I'm no programmer, but these don't sound good!

During bootup, if I go to "recovery mode," I get nowhere and have to restart the box. If I start in the usual mode, I can get my machine to boot up if I hit escape to skip the check disk. The machine boots very, very slowly compared to before the power outtage.

So far, this issue has not slowed down my work, but I'm worried that some morning the computer won't start.

I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Problem booting up computer

Quote Originally Posted by Old Newville View Post
    My computer is giving me fits and I wondered if anyone can help. I'm running Ubuntu 8.04 LTS and I've been very pleased with it until now.

I had a power outtage at my house not long ago. Since then, my computer has had a rough time on boot up.

The check disk function runs and produces a long list of error messages too numerous to write down or even read.

Here is a sample: "dev/sda5 contains a file system with errors." Also this, "Inodes that were part of a corrupt orphan link list found," and "an automatic file system check of the root system failed." I'm no programmer, but these don't sound good!