Thread: Need to use old desktop as backup storage for laptops

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Need to use old desktop as backup storage for laptops

Greetings, I am very new at this. (I once spent several hours trying to network my wife's laptop and mine, only to find that the problem was that we were not on the same workgroup (in Windows...))

So now I'm on Ubuntu, most of the time, and my wife is on Vista.

I have an old desktop (256 MB Ram, 1Ghz processor) with lots of storage space (two hard drives, one empty one with 80GB), and a wireless router. XP (home) is crawling on it (it never ran very fast anyways.) I've tried Puppy Linux, but it ran out of memory quickly, and the applet(?) designed to show available memory didn't work very well.

So, recalling I'm new to networking computers and filesharing, and security, as well as being very new to Linux, what OS should I use on my desktop to enable us to save/backup our laptops to it? I would like to be able to browse the internet on it as well, and perhaps use OpenOffice too, so a GUI is necessary.

Would it also be possible to access the files from a remote computer via the internet?

My ISP is Cox, if that affects anything.
    Dell Studio 1558, 6 gigs RAM, i5-460M processor, dual core, hyperthreading, 10.10 primary, W7 in Virtualbox, learning, please tell me where to find the manual, Keep in touch. <><

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: Need to use old desktop as backup storage for laptops

Ok well here goes (I have this implementation running and it works great!)

download and burn a copy of ubuntu-9.04 or 9.10 server edition (I still use 9.04)

warning - this OS is text based so gui options are not present if you would like a gui i would reccommend using web-min. download and install instructions are easiest if you add the repositories to your /etc/apt/sources.list
    link here http://www.webmin.com/deb.html - very useful