Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    328
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    I just updated to ubuntu 9.10, and it won't go higher than a 800x600 resolution.

    I've posted a few threads and read I bunch of stuff, but I can't get it to work. I want 1280x1024 to work.


    I have "VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller"

    I change the xorg.conf file, based on this page: http://linuxandfriends.com/2009/02/1...-ubuntu-linux/

    but it has no effect.

    someone told me to goto this: page:http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/...kg-reconfigure
    But,when I type
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    nothing happens. I guess a menu is supposed to open up, but it doesn't.

    Can someone help me please!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Kentucky
    Beans
    34
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    I just fixed the same problem on 2 PCs. What is the output when you enter this into the terminal:

    Code:
    cvt 1280 1024

    Also, this thread may help:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1313280
    ...Through the Fire and the flames we carry on.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    TN
    Beans
    429

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    I tried lots of things that ended up with broken xserver. Then, I cheated.
    You might want to take a look at this.
    Good luck to you.
    Resolution help | Mac4Lin install guide|Fuduntu
    Quote Originally Posted by kamaboko View Post
    A suggestion for you...dump the "us vs. them" attitude ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    328
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    Quote Originally Posted by DarthBrady View Post
    I just fixed the same problem on 2 PCs. What is the output when you enter this into the terminal:

    Code:
    cvt 1280 1024
    $ cvt 1280 1024
    # 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
    Modeline "1280x1024_60.00" 109.00 1280 1368 1496 1712 1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    328
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    I got it to work!

    some much time I spend on this!

    I had to mix and match stuff from different pages. Why is it so tricky??

    DarthBrady's comment about cvt reminded me about a similar problem that I had before, and that gave me new ideas to try.

    I used these 2 pages:
    http://www.fluxbox-wiki.org/index.ph...nge_resolution
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Resolution

    first I did

    Code:
    cvt 1280 1024
    and got
    Code:
    # 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
    Modeline "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
    I copied everything after Modeline, and pasted after "xrandr --newmode" like this:

    Code:
    xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
    now when I type

    Code:
    xrandr
    I see
    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 800 x 600, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA1 connected 800x600+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
       800x600        60.3* 
       640x480        59.9  
      1280x1024_60.00 (0x126)  109.0MHz
            h: width  1280 start 1368 end 1496 total 1712 skew    0 clock   63.7KHz
            v: height 1024 start 1027 end 1034 total 1063           clock   59.9Hz
    this tells me "VGA1" is the name of my monitor, and "1280x1024_60.00" is the name of the resolution I just added

    from here I was stuck again, and did some trial and error, and figured out I should type this

    Code:
    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1280x1024_60.00
    and then

    Code:
    xrandr -s 1280x1024
    AND THEN FINALLY I got 1280x1024 working!

    thank everyone for your help.

    if anyone out there has the same problem, reply to this post and I'll try to help you. I know how much it sucks not being able to figure out how to fix this problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    TN
    Beans
    429

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    I'm glad that worked for you.... I got as far as adding the modeline to xrandr, but could never get it to use that mode.
    Resolution help | Mac4Lin install guide|Fuduntu
    Quote Originally Posted by kamaboko View Post
    A suggestion for you...dump the "us vs. them" attitude ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    328
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    Quote Originally Posted by ST3ALTHPSYCH0 View Post
    I'm glad that worked for you.... I got as far as adding the modeline to xrandr, but could never get it to use that mode.
    it was weird, one webpage told me about

    "xrandr -s 1280x1024", but its didn't work.

    then another page told me about how to use "cvt","xrandr --newmode" and "xrandr --addmode"

    but then the way that page said to use "xrandr --output" to activate the newly added resolution didn't work.

    Some how I got the idea to try "xrandr -s 1280x1024" again, and I worked.

    I had to mix and match two methods to get it to work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Pakistan
    Beans
    425
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    Thats great.
    But its tempeorary solution. What to do to make it permanent? I had same problem (acutally still have) but i every time execute two commands to set resolution to 1352*864
    xrandr --newmode "1352x864_60.00" 95.75 1352 1432 1568 1784 864 867 877 897 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1352x864_60.00
    xrandr -s 1352x864
    Any ideas?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    42

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    Quote Originally Posted by ST3ALTHPSYCH0 View Post
    I'm glad that worked for you.... I got as far as adding the modeline to xrandr, but could never get it to use that mode.
    What is the output when you type
    Code:
    xrandr
    in the terminal?

    if your primary adapter(your connected adapter that is) is VGA-0(if not just sub in whatever it is for VGA-0) then try using the following instead of "xrandr -s"
    Code:
    xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1280x1024_60.00
    Last edited by nexes128; November 15th, 2009 at 11:36 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    328
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: stuck in 800x600 (Ubuntu 9.10)

    Quote Originally Posted by true_friend View Post
    Thats great.
    But its tempeorary solution. What to do to make it permanent? I had same problem (acutally still have) but i every time execute two commands to set resolution to 1352*864
    xrandr --newmode "1352x864_60.00" 95.75 1352 1432 1568 1784 864 867 877 897 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --addmode VGA1 1352x864_60.00
    xrandr -s 1352x864
    Any ideas?
    I have to do those 3 lines every time I reboot


    Quote Originally Posted by nexes128 View Post
    What is the output when you type
    Code:
    xrandr
    in the terminal?
    do you mean, before I "addmode" or after?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •