Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TV for super-dummies.

Beans

TV for super-dummies.

Hi,

I'm a TV/webcam novice, to the point I haven't even started to read about it until recently.

I got a web cam, and an HDHomeRun. I dove into the HOWTO here.

I got the webcam working except that the part which automatically tracks me with the camera doesn't work. I'm fine with that, unless somebody knows the problem. That's not what I'm emailing about.

I want to watch TV. I would like to do so in 2 modes: First, as full screen, as though it were a real TV. Second, I want to get a signal in a window that I can watch while doing something else.

MythTV is probably wonderful for those of you who want 14 different tuners in your house and you want precise control over which ones get what channels, and other options I have never imagined before. I've messed with this damn thing for hours now and I can't get the @#$%@#^ TV to work.

I'm willing to work through documentation if I know it's going to get me where I want to go. MythTV looks like it wants to be an entertainment center and nothing else, meaning I can't work while watching TV. It looks to want extreme control over everything. I don't, I just want the TV to work. I want to be able to press up/down arrows to cycle channels, or type in a channel, and MAYBE record.

Is it true that you have to record something before you can watch it? There are settings which seem to talk about "live TV" but no matter what, I try to watch TV and it complains that there are no recordings.

I'm totally lost. Please help.

Thank you.
    Help stamp out MBR partition tables. Use GPT instead!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: TV for super-dummies.

Quote Originally Posted by 1clue View Post
    Hi,

I'm a TV/webcam novice, to the point I haven't even started to read about it until recently.
    I want to be able to press up/down arrows to cycle channels, or type in a channel, and MAYBE record.
    I'm totally lost. Please help.

Thank you.