Thread: DVR/Media Center PC

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Smile DVR/Media Center PC

So I just installed ubuntu 9.04 on an older pc that I rebuilt with a new mobo. Also tried to upgrade to 9.10, which failed miserably, didn't they beta test the crap out of this? Ideally I would like to have this pc work as a DVR and media center. I have a tuner card installed in the pc and I downloaded mythtv for it, but now I am lost. What should I do next? I am new to the linux world. Any suggestions? Please help...I can get my pc specs when I get home if anyone replies to this thread.

Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: DVR/Media Center PC

I know this will be no help, but just to comment....

I gave up on looking for a true Windows Media Center replacement. So much of what I tried was insanely complicated. Seems there is no media center type app that has a minimal config to go through like Windows Media Center.
    Friedrich Nietzsche: "Without Music, Life Would Be A Mistake" - So, what album are you NOW PLAYING?

My Last.FM | My Original Music at Jamendo

Beans

Get mythbuntu and be done with it
    I'm a very happy linode.com customer, I'm sure you will be too!

Beans
    Hidden!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Quote Originally Posted by P4man View Post
    indeed, http://www.mythbuntu.org/ would be your best bet.

So is that a distro or a program that I have to install...new to this...Thanks

Beans
    Hidden!

Quote Originally Posted by Westernill2 View Post
    its a distro. Its based on ubuntu but comes with everything preinstalled. you can even run it off a cd apparently (the frontend at least). Their website and wiki have elaborate documentation to help you get started. Its a very comprehensive solution, its not exactly a simple or light weight tv recorder app, but it will do anything you could possibly want from a pvr and then some.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release