Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Could you suggest a simple, lightweight distro for my folks

Beans

Thumbs up Could you suggest a simple, lightweight distro for my folks

Hey Guys,
    First of all I would like to thank all the guys who help us new users. Ive so far managed to fix ALL my problems using the SEARCH tool. And now have a stable, up-to-date system with all the programs I want configured that way I want So for all the help...I say THANKS!

Now, Here is my question:
    Im a student and I stay away from home (in a diff country). And though I call home, I chat using yahoo and voice using skype is a very important mode of communication between me and my family. I have a decent system so Ubuntu works great on my pc. But this is what my folks have:
    A Pentium 2 - 450 Mhz
    128Mb shared ram with 32mb alloted to memory
    6Gb hard drive
    Dialup connection
    OS- Windows ME (not working anymore)

So my question to you is, Which OS (Linux) do you guys suggest? Now there is nothing but Ubuntu that I would them to use. But, looking at the system specs I really do not know if it would run at a usable level. So my dear friends, could you suggest any distribution that is simple and works on the above mentioned specs?

So far on Searching I have found that:
    1.Ubuntu is too heavy, but Xfce/fluxbox can be a way out
    2.DamnSmall Linux is good
    3.Puppy Linux runs great and I can create a custom ISO with all the programs custom added to the ISO (?)

I am currently leaning towards Puppy linux as it has the custom Iso feature (since I would have to download/burn the ISO and send it to them I can put all the applications that they would need). But since this is the only place I know that can give me a sincere suggestion..I ask you..what should I do... where should I look? Which distribution would you suggest?

Thank you for your time, suggestions and thoughts.

Beans

Re: Could you suggest a simple, lightweight distro for my folks