Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help! Just loaded Ubuntu 9.04 and have no sound!

Beans

Help! Just loaded Ubuntu 9.04 and have no sound!

Hi there

I bought a new PC with no OS, and decided to give Linux a tryout. I installed Ubuntu 9.04, but I cannot get any sound to play.

I am, to be frank, a total novice at this and would appreciate someone helping me out here.

I don't even know what make my soundcard is!

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Help! Just loaded Ubuntu 9.04 and have no sound!

Southpaw83 - Hello and welcome to the forums

Now to make sure we check out everything - doublecheck that your speakers are plugged in, and don't have any loose connections. Also make sure that if they have a power button on them that it is powered on. Next, go to Applications>Accessories>Terminal, and in the terminal we're going to run the program:
    Code:
    alsamixer
    Now using your arrow keys and the 'M' button, make sure all the volume levels in Alsa-mixer are turned up, and not 'muted'. If they are muted, it'll show 'MM' under the bar, rather than a number.

If you're hardware is plugged in correctly, and none of your volumes are muted, but you still don't get any sound can you give us the output of:
    Code:
    sudo lshw | grep Audio

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by swoody View Post
    Southpaw83 - Hello and welcome to the forums

Now to make sure we check out everything - doublecheck that your speakers are plugged in, and don't have any loose connections. Also make sure that if they have a power button on them that it is powered on. Next, go to Applications>Accessories>Terminal, and in the terminal we're going to run the program:
    Code:
    alsamixer
    Now using your arrow keys and the 'M' button, make sure all the volume levels in Alsa-mixer are turned up, and not 'muted'. If they are muted, it'll show 'MM' under the bar, rather than a number.