Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't type acute accents anymore

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Can't type acute accents anymore

I recently posted a thread similar to this one in Absolute Beginner Talk as I thought this wasn't too hard to solve. I might have been wrong.

The problem is that I can't type acute accents anymore. I'm from Iceland and thus this is a major problem for me. I used to be able to press two keys: the English apostrophe button and a vowel.
    However, when experimenting in Keyboard Preferences, pressing Reset to Defaults disabled that option. I've tried numerous things in Layout Options to fix it but nothing seems to work.

I'm a Ubuntu 9.04 user and using a Logitech Cordless Desktop EX110 keyboard.

I'll post my Keyboard settings here: http://i568.photobucket.com/albums/s...a/keyboard.jpg

In Layout Options, the only things I've selected are 'Keys to change layout' (both shift keys together) and 'Key to choose 3rd level' (right ctrl).

Are there any ideas to fix this? Or maybe I'll just have to wait for Ubuntu 9.10?

Thanks in advance.

Added: I've tried compose keys too without luck. The icelandic keyboard has dead keys but they don't work for me anymore.
    Last edited by rannuG; September 28th, 2009 at 07:39 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Can't type acute accents anymore

Quote Originally Posted by rannuG View Post
    I used to be able to press two keys: the English apostrophe button and a vowel.
    That sounds like you were using "dead keys" before. If you want it to behave like that you'll need to pick a layout that uses dead keys.

The other option is to set a Compose key. Then you can press Compose → accent → letter. For example, Compose → ' → a gives you á. It's slightly more flexible than dead keys in that you can generate non-letter characters too; Compose → o → c gives you the copyright symbol ©, and so on.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

Beans
    Distro