Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DDR2 800 or 1066?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    98

    Question DDR2 800 or 1066?

    Motherboard:
    Brand GIGABYTE
    Model GA-MA785G-UD3H
    FSB 2600MHz Hyper Transport (5200 MT/s)
    North Bridge AMD 785G
    South Bridge AMD SB710

    CPU:
    Name Phenom II X3 720
    Operating Frequency 2.8GHz
    Hyper Transports 4000MHz

    What type of memory is most appropriat; DDR2 800 or DDR2 1066 (assume the processor is not overclocked) ? Why? If the 1066 is more appropriate is it worth the extra money for a non-gaming system?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    110
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

    To be honest you probably won't notice a difference. Overtime I'm sure the 1066mhz will shave a few minutes from being wasted, but any bottleneck will be elsewhere.

    Since you are not gaming i'd say go with the 800mhz and save the money.
    Happy geeks are effective geeks!
    AMD Athlon II X2 250 (3.0ghz), Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P, 3GB Crucial DDR3-1066Mhz RAM, XFX ATI RadeonHD 5750 1GB GDDR5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    98

    Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

    That is good, because I bought the 800. I had heard that the 1066 required tinkering with the bios (I am not sure if that is an issue with my motherboard. Does anybody know?) Being afraid of that I went with the 800 and then had regrets. I started doing some research and it seemed that timings had a lot to do with the equation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    4newOtherOSTalk4umCsig
    Beans
    555

    Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gosport View Post
    That is good, because I bought the 800. I had heard that the 1066 required tinkering with the bios (I am not sure if that is an issue with my motherboard. Does anybody know?) Being afraid of that I went with the 800 and then had regrets. I started doing some research and it seemed that timings had a lot to do with the equation.
    It depends on the mainboard, and the RAM. Sometimes it plugs and works and sometimes it doesn't.
    PhenomII 720x4@3.65gHz w/Zalman cooler,PNY Nvidia GTX260, 4GB, Arch64

    14 is NOT a random number!!!!!
    Arch Linux | new Other OS Talk forum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    98

    Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

    Quote Originally Posted by Skripka View Post
    It depends on the mainboard, and the RAM. Sometimes it plugs and works and sometimes it doesn't.

    How can you tell?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Malta EU
    Beans
    592
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

    You could check you motherboard's 'User Guide' and it should tell you.
    Often it will tell you the memory type/model details. I would say DDR2 800 would work fine for your specification though.
    If you don't have a user guide go to the motherboard site, you should be able to download it.
    Good luck

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    138

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    4newOtherOSTalk4umCsig
    Beans
    555

    Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gosport View Post
    How can you tell?
    Usually reviewers online can warn you.

    Myself I wouldn't even bother with 1066mHz DDR2, as up to 1200mHz DDR2 is available-but that is me...the catch being due to the high clock on that RAM and the fact that no one mentions the stuff in official support in mainboard documentation, that plug-and-play support may be iffy...although in my lookings the OCZ offerings tend to regularly need timing/voltage tweaks, whereas Kingston et al do not-from what I have read.
    PhenomII 720x4@3.65gHz w/Zalman cooler,PNY Nvidia GTX260, 4GB, Arch64

    14 is NOT a random number!!!!!
    Arch Linux | new Other OS Talk forum

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •