Thread: I Need Complete instructions for installation: PowerBook G3 Pismo 500 MHz

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Question I Need Complete instructions for installation: PowerBook G3 Pismo 500 MHz

I'm trying to install Hardy on a PowerBook G3 (affectionately referred to by all us used Mac guys [and anyone else who cares] as the Pismo). I've read about the video issues and have suffered them myself on the Live CD. I'm completely new at Linux (though I'm pretty experienced with Mac OS 9 and X, and Windows 95 thru Vista), so I need the complete, idiot-proof instructions on how to install it and fix the video issue. I've been able to use this Live CD with an iMac G4 (so I know it's good). I haven't tried to install with it yet, though.

Any help anyone can give would be appreciated.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: I Need Complete instructions for installation: PowerBook G3 Pismo 500 MHz

this might be a good starting point
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1114297

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Unhappy Re: I Need Complete instructions for installation: PowerBook G3 Pismo 500 MHz

That link would have been helpful under different circumstances. Thanks anyway.

OK, what I'm trying to do is install Ubuntu 8.04.1 Hardy Heron PPC from a standard Live CD onto my laptop. It has a video issue where it won't get into the X Window environment to install Ubuntu from the CD (the screen is filled with diagonal bars: a display setting problem). I've tried to change the settings using:

sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

However, nano won't let me save it. It says I don't have permission. Perhaps I can save it to my hard drive somehow, but I'm really, really, really new to Linux, and I don't know the directory of my hard drive. Somehow, I don't think it would help anyway unless I was booting from the HD.