Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Access local server via IP?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Question Access local server via IP?

I realize this is probably a total newbie question, but is there a way to access the Apache server here in my local network, by way of it's external IP? (99.*.*.*)

My goal is to make sure (as near as possible) I'm seeing exactly what would be seen by someone when they type my URL.

I made a wild guess that it had something to do with the fact that a browser works by sending out it's request via port 80, while at the same time my Apache server is trying to listen on port 80, and therefore neither can resolve the conflict. With that in mind, I told Apache to listen on port 8080, but that didn't work.

So, is there a simple way to access my Apache server from the external IP? Or is that something that would having me pulling my hair for hours? (For what it's worth, I've tried a few random free proxies, but the results have been less than desirable.)

If you'd prefer to point me to some good links on the topic, I'd be more than happy to study the information there as well.

Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Access local server via IP?

Access it by the local IP, such as 192.168.1.101

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Doesn't work for me either. I can ping my external IP address from within my home netword, but I can't access it with a browser. I'm not 100% sure but I think it's the router that doesn't allow this.

Anyway, as long as you use the same browser you'll see the same page, regardless of whether you access it internally or externally.

Paul

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by kay-man View Post
    I'm not 100% sure but I think it's the router that doesn't allow this.
    Aye.
    「明後日の夕方には帰ってるからね。」

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx