Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    Thanks, this is in a very simple, and therefore nice, solution, but when I switch to only the laptop screen and then back to 2 screens the panel are back at the left.


    Bart

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Beans
    28

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    Exactly. There should have been an option to choose main screen, not just move panels around randomly ... they don't stay this way obviously.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    perhaps one of you can post your xorg.conf? Dont know what it looks like on an intel dual monitor setup. With nvidia you have a "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" option where you can specify which is the first screen.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    My xorg.conf is
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Default Screen"
        Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
        Device        "Configured Video Device"
        SubSection "Display"
            Virtual    2880 900
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    But I don't see where I could specify a first screen

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    Indeed, thats kinda empty lol. Have you tried
    Code:
    grandr
    ? its in the repo's

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden, Jönköping
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    I just fix the same issue.

    I moved the two original panels from the left monitor to the right one.

    When I use only the laptop (the left of the two) everything gets back in place.
    When I reconnect the second screen and restart, the panels are on the right side again!!


    Hope it work for you too!


    PS. For moving the panels I un-tick expand in their properties, move them and tick again to expand.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    11

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    Hmm , my panels jump back after I've booted with a single screen and the grandr only sets my screens to mirror mode.

    But I think I'll wait a week, because the 9.10 version apparently upgrades the intel video driver:
    http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/karmic...0for%20testing

    See if this solves some problems

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    11

    Smile Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by Sjenitzer View Post
    Hmm , my panels jump back after I've booted with a single screen and the grandr only sets my screens to mirror mode.

    But I think I'll wait a week, because the 9.10 version apparently upgrades the intel video driver:
    http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/karmic...0for%20testing

    See if this solves some problems
    It worked for me, Ubuntu 9.10 remembers where my panel were on a dual screen mode.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    2

    Re: Dual screen - how make main desktop appear on right side monitor

    Just go to System->preferences->monitor and set the laptop and external monitor screen with laptop in the left and external monitor in the right. Set the resolutions as adjusted.

    By default the laptop will be the primary.

    if u want to make the external monitor as ur primary run the command.

    xrandr --output HDMI2 --primary

    <HDMI2> is ur external monitor here. u willl get the correct o/p for command "xrandr".

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •