Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GPRS connected but no data transfer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Hi,

    Really impressed with ubuntu 9.04. The easiest linux distro I've ever attempted to use! I'm trying to use my Nokia ExpressMusic 5310 to connect to the internet through GPRS. I'm doing this under windows nicely, but have to use the nokia PC suite software to get me there.

    Here's how it goes. I connect the phone using a usb cable, and after going through the wizard (in which it successfully finds my mobile service provider), it 'successfully' connects. It all looks like it should work, only, I can't get any pages to load in firefox.

    I know I'm probably not giving enough details for anyone to help me, but that's all I can think of for now. FYI, I can't get it to connect using bluetooth, but USB is my priority, and I'll sort bluetooth out later.

    I really appreciate any help.
    Kit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Honk honk
    (I use my horn to avoid bumping)

    I know the original post doesn't contain many details; I just can't think of any more to include to help troubleshoot.

    LAN and wifi are working fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Patiently waiting for any suggestions how to get started tackling this....I don't have broadband at home, so rely on using my girlfriend's windows laptop to use the 'net right now...a little inconvenient. Honk honk!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Ummm you wanna chose pc suite on nokia phone and not sure what company you have but I have 6301 with T-Mobile and just chose T-Mobile WAP from the popup thing not the Internet one since I got phone not PDA and it worked instantly.
    Current Ubuntu Version: Ubuntu 16.04 X64 / Linux Mint 18 X64
    Ubuntu User for 10+ Years...
    Phone: Nexus 6 on Android N


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Quote Originally Posted by misfitpierce View Post
    Ummm you wanna chose pc suite on nokia phone and not sure what company you have but I have 6301 with T-Mobile and just chose T-Mobile WAP from the popup thing not the Internet one since I got phone not PDA and it worked instantly.
    Wine complained that Nokia PC suite is 'rubbish' and that it basically will not work under linux.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Smile Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Honk honk! Still waiting to be able to use the internet at home! All help is appreciated.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Twiddle twiddle
    I have to twiddle my thumbs using windows until someone helps me! Please!

    To re-state the problem: connecting my nokia 5310 express music via usb cable to my neat new jaunty ubuntu installation, the 'mobile broadband' wizard successfully suggests my country (Thailand) and mobile service provider (DTAC). When I click 'connect' from the connections menu, my phone says that it's connecting...and hey presto, a GPRS connection is opened on my phone.

    The difference with the result of this procedure between windows and ubuntu is as follows. After the GPRS connection has been established on the phone, in windows internet pages load, in ubuntu, they don't load. Zilcho.

    When my laptop is in the right place, I get wireless and ethernet internet on ubuntu very nicely. Just GPRS isn't working.

    Yours patiently,
    oldmankit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    30

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Hi,

    I am on 8.04.... I can't completely understand what real problem is.... but I guess it is a basic issue.... From your mail what I see is that... you have not removed existing network settings.

    Before connecting to GPRS .... Go to System->Network-> Network settings and remove all the connections (remove in check box) then connect... I guess you must be able to load pages.

    Bharath
    See also old way of doing things (if required):
    http://www.zyxware.com/articles/2008...and-data-cable
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1091189

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    just set it up as a usb modem if possible.. If needed i can do the same with my cellphone via the USB cable.
    2.1 AMD Athlon-X2 QL 64,
    ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics Card 1408 mb HyperMemory,
    320 Gigabyte HDD, 3 Gigabytes DDR2 Memory,
    15.6" HD LCD. Ubuntu 9.04....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Beans
    228
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Talking Re: GPRS connected but no data transfer

    Hooray!

    Thanks for the help. Reference to this page for the steps (it's in Thai).

    I managed to set-it up with the following steps:

    sudo wvdialconf /etc/wvdial.conf
    sudo gedit /etc/wvdial.conf
    and adding/uncommenting the following lines:

    Phone = *99#
    Username = ''
    Password = ''
    Stupid Mode = 1
    After that, using
    sudo wvdial
    works a treat.

    I truly don't understand why using the Network Connections wizard didn't quite work. It opened a connection and on my phone it displayed the little logo to say that GPRS was operative, however, no information was getting through. I couldn't load any webpages.

    However, now it works, and that's the important thing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •