Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kerala, INDIA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    Make – Frontech E-Cam (Gem)
    Model – JIL -225
    Country Of Origin- China




    uname -r


    2.6.28-15-generic (Ubuntu jaunty)


    lsusb


    HTML Code:
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub 
     Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub 
     Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0c45:614a Microdia  
     Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub 
     Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub 
    The problem


    No /dev/video* is created.


    I have tried following 3 approaches


    Approach 1


    Installed microdia driver as per instructions from http://groups.google.com/group/microdia/


    Still /dev/video* is not created.


    Seems the Webcam is not supported yet with microdia driver.

    Approach 2


    The webcam driver CD has a directory named Linux drivers . Initially thought that this will be useful.
    It has 2 files in it ie , linux_120snxcam.o and snxcam.o . tried insmod . But looks like .o extension is no longer supported by new kernels. I am not sure of any way to make the webcam work from these files.


    Approach3


    Tried ndiswrapper . Read some where that it can be used for non wireless drivers also . But after installing the driver , The GUI for ndiswrapper says No hardware present.




    Seems the Webcam is not supported yet on Ubuntu . Comments please.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Mankato, MN
    Beans
    26
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    After reading (Amazon.com user comments) that several people had success in making my variant of this webcam working in Hardy, I went ahead and purchased one.

    Unfortunately, I am having the exact same difficulties with it on my Jaunty installation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    11

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    any progress on this?

    I have the crypto budget III camera

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    India
    Beans
    297
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    i think ur issue is fixed in karmic koala.

    so u should try it on karmic.

    for best results try it out on a fresh install of karmic,rather than an upgrade.9.10 rox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kerala, INDIA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    Little luck still with karmic upgrade.tried with cheese and Skype. Can't afford a fresh install. Any pointers to get it working on the upgrade.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    2,333

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    try running gstreamer-properties in the terminal
    click video try diff settings

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kerala, INDIA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    Had tried gstreamer-properties. Not working.

    There is no /dev/video0.

    Any pointers to debug?
    Last edited by MikeMiracle; November 5th, 2009 at 11:10 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    6

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    The camera worked perfectly on Cheese and Skype with Xubuntu 9.10 but it's not working with Ubuntu 9.10 at all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ottawa
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    Also having this problem. Mine is a "crystal cam" and appears as 0c45:614a Microdia after using lsusb.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    2,333

    Re: Frontech E-cam Microdia not working in jaunty

    astarr
    look in add/remove see if gstreamer good,bad,ugly,and 10 is installed


    gstreamer-properties


    open a terminal type, gstreamer-properties click enter
    click video try v4l1 and v4l2
    click the bottom test button for each 1

    cheese has a nice help file look in the faq's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •