Thread: Is there a way to backup all programs installed?

Beans

Talking Is there a way to backup the full os and programs? (Im a newbie)

Hi all,
    Is there a way to backup all the programs that I have installed on xubuntu then if I have to re-install the os I can just stick all the programs back on?

either that or a way to backup my whole HDD?

thanks,
    Last edited by rock it; September 16th, 2009 at 07:58 PM.

Beans

Re: Is there a way to backup all programs installed?

Code:
     dpkg --get-selections > myInstalledPackages.txt
    restore with synaptic or

Code:
    dpkg --set-selections
    you can also make an image of your linux install and restore it to an other computers patition then reinstall the bootloader and correct /etc/fstab

i do that all the time (make a nice linux, distribute it to all other boxes)
    Last edited by ubongo2008; September 16th, 2009 at 08:05 PM.

Beans

If I did that would it work for wine? and wine-doors?
    also do you know how I could make backup of everything on the HDD... like everything, because I'm wanting to dual boot, but if it doesn't work then I'd like to have all my programs ready to stick back on without having to download again.

sorry if this makes no sense or if I'm repeating. :S

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Quote Originally Posted by rock it View Post
    also do you know how I could make backup of everything on the HDD... like everything, because I'm wanting to dual boot, but if it doesn't work then I'd like to have all my programs ready to stick back on without having to download again.

It only works for applications installed from the repositories. So any application manually downloaded and installed will require manual installation again.