Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Open Source Newspaper

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Open Source Newspaper

I just started a new job with a small Newspaper/Publishing company. My first task is to upgrade and streamline all the computer systems. Since we're a small outfit in a small town in Ohio, we don't have a large budget. My first instinct is to convert everything to open source. I'm not a computer expert and I feel like I could potentially be playing with fire. But, deep down inside, I know this is the right thing to do for the company.

Does anyone here run a newspaper/publishing company with open source software?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Open Source Newspaper

Let me explain what we're dealing with:

The publishing computers are running Mac OS9 and OSX with Adobe Indesign, Photoshop, and another publishing program called Quark. All of these versions are out of date and the departments are running into trouble with compatiability. To upgrade all the computer software is pretty much out of question from a financial point of view.

The Office computers are running Windows XP with Quickbooks and some customized SAP software for mailing subscriptions. The SAP license is expensive and I would love to cancel the annual contract, but I don't know what we would do instead. The office ladies say the software is absolutely neccessary.

To make things a little more complicated, we also have a printing department with pre-press gear and a web press. And, we provide printing services for additional clients. What kind of problems could we run into if our customers are using Indesign CS4 and we are not?

Is there anyone else dealing with similar issues?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

The cost of retraining your staff to use open source alternatives may be more expensive than just updating commercial software.

I feel your pain though, newspapers are going under all over the place, budgets are real tight.

Beans