Thread: File format for external hard drive?

Beans

File format for external hard drive?

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I am new to the Ubuntu experience. I come from the Microsoft world, so excuse me for asking such a noobie question. I bought a new external USB hard drive to use with my Ubuntu laptop. In the Microsoft world, I really enjoyed using the NTFS file system as it was fast, efficient, and had no limitations on file sizes. I work a lot with very large video files and want to know the best format to use for my new external hard drive. It must be able to "talk" to both my Windows operation system desktop computer as well as my separate Ubuntu computer, and also have no file size limitations due to the large files I work with. Because of that, it would seem to eliminate using FAT 32 for the drive.

So, what file system should I use in this scenario - FAT 32, ext3, or NTFS? Or something else?

Does ext3 have any file size limitations?

Also, do hard drives have to be defragged in Ubuntu like they did in Windows?

Thanks everyone, this community rocks!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: File format for external hard drive?

Quote Originally Posted by jpt85 View Post
    Hi everyone, this is my first post and I am new to the Ubuntu experience. I come from the Microsoft world, so excuse me for asking such a noobie question. I bought a new external USB hard drive to use with my Ubuntu laptop. In the Microsoft world, I really enjoyed using the NTFS file system as it was fast, efficient, and had no limitations on file sizes. I work a lot with very large video files and want to know the best format to use for my new external hard drive. It must be able to "talk" to both my Windows operation system desktop computer as well as my separate Ubuntu computer, and also have no file size limitations due to the large files I work with. Because of that, it would seem to eliminate using FAT 32 for the drive.