Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Compiz breaks graphics apps

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    9

    Angry Compiz breaks graphics apps

    Running Compiz corrupts the graphic output of a bunch of the programs I use. The corrupted programs all seem to be using 3D graphics, or drawing some other kind of non-GUI data into their window. Is this a known problem, and if so, is there a work-around? I really like Compiz, but I can't deal with the problems its use seems to cause.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Nyack, Ny
    Beans
    84
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Compiz breaks graphics apps

    thats kinda the thing about compiz; it just hogs your RAM and CPU, always. You can go to appearance in your prefrences, and you can set your effects to none when you are running a program that uses alot of RAM, or you can just replace your graphics card.
    If you are not free to choose wrongly and irresponsibly, you are not free at all. – Jacob Hornberger (1995)
    Ignorance is dependency, and dependency almost always results in imminent death.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Compiz breaks graphics apps

    no, the cpu and ram are fine. The graphics output just flickers. I'm running at about 30% on both CPUs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    23,866
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Compiz breaks graphics apps

    Quote Originally Posted by AtomicCheese View Post
    no, the cpu and ram are fine. The graphics output just flickers. I'm running at about 30% on both CPUs.
    This is a issue as I understand it with the nvidia drivers, you may look at the fusion-icon for quick change.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Compiz breaks graphics apps

    Thanks. Is there some kind of work-around to the problem?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    23,866
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Compiz breaks graphics apps

    Quote Originally Posted by AtomicCheese View Post
    Thanks. Is there some kind of work-around to the problem?
    You may try a different nvidia driver. I am using 185.19 that works pretty well with my nvidia 8200M G

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •