Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Asus 1005HA wireless trouble...need explanation in simple terms...

Beans

Angry Asus 1005HA wireless trouble...need explanation in simple terms...

Alright so I'm completely lost as to what I can do here. I know there are other threads that address this, but I've found most of them to be either (a) above my head or (b) outdated. I'm very new to Linux, and I need someone to help me out with this in very simple terms. Any help would be much appreciated.

(I do have limited experience in using the terminal, though)

I recently bought an Asus Eee 1005HA netbook, and it came with Windows XP. I decided that I wanted the computer to run Linux, so I downloaded and installed Ubuntu Netbook Remix. I found I didn't like that interface all, and then changed it to the desktop version of Ubuntu. I like this very much, and this is where I am now.

However, I can't seem to get internet on it. I click on the whole "Edit Connections" thing and nothing comes up under wireless (even though I know the network is working fine). The internet worked fine when I had XP on it.

I've tried the solution suggested in this thread, but my Synaptic can't seem to find ndisgtk.

I've tried a couple of other things too, but, like the above solution, I always get stuck at some step where I find that my computer is missing something.

Could someone help me out? I've been messing around with it for a day now and I have no idea what to do. And I'd preferably like not to have to use an external wifi adapter.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate

Re: Asus 1005HA wireless trouble...need explanation in simple terms...

Hi EmrysPen and welcome to this forum.

Hoping that this is not a program/driver problem you can do 3 basic tests.

1. check if wireless is enabled from BIOS