Thread: ..pdf markup similar to PDF XChange Viewer?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

..pdf markup similar to PDF XChange Viewer?

Q: Can anyone suggest a good solution for marking up .pdf's in Linux?

Possible solutions:

1) PDF XChange Viewer via WINE -- appears from <http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=9138&iTesting Id=15527> that' it's mostly working. Is anyone having any issues with this?
    2) native Linux .pdf markup tool -- anyone know which of these <http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/PDF> is closest to PDF XChange viewer in terms of markup capabilities via GUI?

I've been running Ubuntu on a Windows Vista 32 via Sun's VirtualBox for a while now. I'm considering making a complete migration over to Linux. But there a few sticking points. This is one of them. I'm a PhD student reading LOTS of .pdf journal articles and REALLY need a good solution for marking them up. PDF XChange Viewer really is great software for my purposes...but it doesn't look like there's anything close to it in Linux Am I wrong here?

Beans
    Distro

Re: ..pdf markup similar to PDF XChange Viewer?

hmm, maybe someone can at least comment on whether my question above was poorly stated or better asked in a different forum?

Beans

I am also searching a good pdf reader with annotating feature. I found pdf xchange viewer via wine a week ago. It does good job in highlighting, adding comment.... But the bookmark feature doesn't come with the free version. I want the bookmark feature. Let me know if someone know a pdf editor which can do markup plus bookmarking. How is Xjournal?

Pdf xchange is about the same as FoxitReader.

-Telescopic

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by telescopic View Post