Thread: xmms

Beans

Angry xmms

Ok, first hello everyone I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 LTS
    I'm very new in all this and i've been killing myself, literally, today trying to install xmms, and now when I've finally did it I want to erase it.
    I've done some more reading and realised that xmms is a dead project and i've installed audicious instead and it is just like xmms. Or to me it is at least.
    But when i've installed audicious I used "sudo apt-get install audicious" and ubuntu reads it like every other application.
    On the other hand when i was installing xmms, I've manually downloaded it from the internet along with lots and lots of other libraries so i can finally install xmms.
    And now I want to erase xmms, so normally i go with "sudo apt-get remove xmms" and i get: Package xmms is not installed, so not removed
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    I've also tried using "sudo apt-get purge xmms" and i got the same message
    I've also tried with "Add/Remove" and the "Synaptic Package Manager" and I still can't find it. But when i press "Alt+F2" and type "xmms" int the Run Application window xmms starts and i can play mp3s in it, exact same thing happens when i run it from the command line.
    So I know it's a tough beginners luck, but help with this one please.

Thanks ...

wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Beans

Re: xmms

Open synaptic and click search not quick search and it's listed in there.

Could also try:

Code:
    sudo apt-get --purge remove xmms

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

goto >system>administration>synaptic package manager and in the search icon (magnifying glass icon ) type: xmms... hopefully apt has picked up your installation ,and remove it from here. the version i am using is called xmms2,but cant rem if 8.04 was using the same version or not
    using.... ACER ASPIRE ONE and ACER ASPIRE 5332
    running.... Ubuntu 12.04

Beans