Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: novatel mc930d

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    MANCHESTER UK
    Beans
    326
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    novatel mc930d [SOLVED]

    trying to get a novatel mc930d to work in ubuntu,
    i have had a look here,
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/NetworkManag...adband%20cards
    but am unsure as to what i do after i eject.
    the icon is on my laptop, and i can see the .inf files etc.
    please help, Im totally new not only to ubuntu, but computers in general.


    [SOLVED] by having a hard wired connection and getting all the updates prior to trying to do anything else first
    Last edited by albert s; August 5th, 2009 at 11:30 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    1,674
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: novatel mc930d

    what version of ubuntu are you using?
    Neo Tokyo Skies Prologue

    A prologue release of the MMORPG Neo Tokyo skies...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    MANCHESTER UK
    Beans
    326
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: novatel mc930d

    sorry, should have said,
    its version 9
    i think its 9.04, jaunty

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    1,674
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: novatel mc930d

    and this is a 3g card for mobile broadband, yes?
    Neo Tokyo Skies Prologue

    A prologue release of the MMORPG Neo Tokyo skies...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    1,674
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: novatel mc930d

    if i'm reading the guide properly, you should just be able to eject the card, ~(not physically of course), and then just right click on network manager in your sys tray and select the 3g option to configure it...
    Neo Tokyo Skies Prologue

    A prologue release of the MMORPG Neo Tokyo skies...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    MANCHESTER UK
    Beans
    326
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: novatel mc930d

    yes, its a 3g mobile braodband usb dongle on o2 UK.
    it works fine on my windoze laptop, but as i am having problems getting my pc wireless card to work i thought i would use the dongle to get any updated drivers i need for it.
    then i could download ndiswrapper if i need to.
    thanks, I'll give that a go.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    1,674
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: novatel mc930d

    i wouldn't recommend doing updates over a 3g modem, slow and potentially costly...

    is the wireless card not working at all? and what type is it? built-in, usb etc?
    Neo Tokyo Skies Prologue

    A prologue release of the MMORPG Neo Tokyo skies...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    2,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: novatel mc930d

    Quote Originally Posted by albert s View Post
    trying to get a novatel mc930d to work in ubuntu
    With the new Ubuntu 9.04 you should be able to insert the Novatel modem, eject it, and then NetworkManager should list a new 3G device, e.g. "Wireless Broadband" or something like that.

    You'd then click on it, insert a few settings (e.g. which country you and your provider are from, the name of the provider .... In my case this would be: "Switzerland" + "Sunrise" ...) and that's about it. It should "just work".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    MANCHESTER UK
    Beans
    326
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: novatel mc930d

    built in wireless card, PCI
    TP-LINK TL-WN353G
    I have had to unplug it because ubuntu simply refuses to boot up with it plugged in.!
    keeps saying some kind of eth0 error, perhaps there is a conflict with the ethernet connector and i should try unplugging that instead.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    2,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: novatel mc930d

    Quote Originally Posted by shifty_powers View Post
    i wouldn't recommend doing updates over a 3g modem, slow and potentially costly...
    Not if you have a flat data plan that usually comes with such a modem, e.g. mine is 2 GB per month. For as long as you don't download DVD images you can download whatever Linux updates you need without problems.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •