Thread: Nokia PC Suite

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Nokia PC Suite

anyone managed to make Nokia PC suite work on wine?
    I mean i installed it with no problem it work but when i connect my mobile to pc it shows on my nokia thats its connected to pc but nothin on the pc.
    I downloaded aswell KmobileTool but i cant open my mobile files though that program.
    Anyone having same problem with nokia pc suite?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: Nokia PC Suite

I've got a nokia phone and hook up to Jaunty with no need of external apps. Just go into Nokia mode (on the phone) and it'll work as a modem, and storage mode (on the phone) to get access to files.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

this is one thing i've made a mistake over. i've been using ubuntu for around 6 months now on my laptop and was able to use my sony ericcson k850i very easily. i just connected it in phone mode and i could browse the internet AND look at my files.

i recently upgraded my phone to a nokia 5800 and have belatedly discovered that nokia's design makes it difficult to get the phone to work in ubuntu. there's no "phone mode", only a "pc suite" mode.
    i can't even get the latest version of pc suite to install under wine, let alone work, so i'm stuck with having to keep a windows installation i barely use on my laptop despite the fact that one folder (the dreaded winsxs) at 15.1 gb takes up almost as much space as my entire ubuntu installation & programs & personal files at 16.2 gb.

i'll be putting a bit more thought into my next phone and get a linux-friendly one.

Beans
    Distro

I'm surprised it doesn't work, when I plug my 5300 in I just choose a menu option and go. It's disappointing then if nokia have indeed gone non-standard.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Quote Originally Posted by stwschool View Post