Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    4

    Cannot Use Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    i just bought alcatel One Touch X060S HSDPA usb modem, but it only can used in windows, i tried in ubuntu but still cannot be detected as modem.even tough alcatel website states that it support linux, plz help is there any drivers or installers for 3G modem to be used in ubuntu.

    i'm using Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04
    Last edited by SHIVANESH; June 29th, 2009 at 11:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Barcelona, Catalonia
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Cannot Use Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by SHIVANESH View Post
    i just bought alcatel One Touch X060S HSDPA usb modem, but it only can used in windows, i tried in ubuntu but still cannot be detected as modem.even tough alcatel website states that it support linux, plz help is there any drivers or installers for 3G modem to be used in ubuntu.

    i'm using Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04

    Me too! Using Dell Inspiron 1501, detects Alcatel One Touch X060S HSDPA USB modem as CD.

    Will thank you for any ideas!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    14

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    Hello,

    I am reading in this guide (in italian) and in this guide (in spanish) that the device is actually working after some tweaks.

    Basically you need to install usb_modeswitch in order to make kernel divide between pendrive and usb-modem in this device, and then you should be able to recognize and configure the modem as Alcatel X200 and use it with wvdial (and/or gnome-ppp).

    I am trying, without sucess until now... so any other attempt / test / hint is welcome.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    14

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    Yoy may also want to try a patched kernel and NetworkManager for X060s from this PPA:

    https://launchpad.net/~jmartinj/+archive/javi

    I am not going to do it as I am testing the device on a EEEpc 4g and I already use a patched kernel so... I have no time to compile a double patch now. If you try it please let us know if it is working and how.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    14

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    Almost done it!!!
    I am posting while online on a umts connection with my alcatel x060s!

    I used the spanish guide I linked above - still some issues to solve (I can connect only as root, etc) but it is working. Now let me switch to a normal wifi connection and I am writing down how I made it.

    Linux rules!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    14

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    ok here we go.
    As I wrote, all credits go to the spanish guide you can read here.

    Plugin your x060s and give a
    Code:
    lsusb
    . You should have a line saying something like:

    Code:
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 1bbb:f000 T & A Mobile Phones
    Please notice the code f000 : this is the responsible of all our problems, we have to modeswitch this to 0000 in order to make the modem work.

    Let me just summarize what I did on my eeePc 4g from the command line:

    1. Install usb_modeswitch to make kernel recognize the TWO devices inside x060s: mass storage and MODEM (!).

    2. Configure usb_modeswitch with sudo gedit /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf and adding the lines:

    Code:
    ########################################################
    # Alcatel X060
    
    DefaultVendor=  0x1bbb
    DefaultProduct= 0xf000
    
    TargetVendor=   0x1bbb
    TargetProduct=  0x0000
    
    # only for reference
    # MessageEndpoint=0x01
    
    MessageContent="55534243123456788000000080000606f50402527000000000000000000000"
    ########################################################
    or uncommenting the lines referring to Alcatel X200 that should be the same device.

    Plug it in again, give as sudo the command:
    Code:
    usb_modeswitch
    and looking your syslog (with tail -20 /var/log/syslog or with a simple dmesg) you should now see:

    Code:
    .....  Direct-Access     USBModem MMC Storage      2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
    This Direct-Access (instead of previous CD-ROM) means that we made it.

    Next step is starting a driver for the modem. The command is:
    Code:
    modprobe usbserial vendor=0x1bbb product=0x0000
    In your dmesg / syslog you should see:

    Code:
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.388222] usb 1-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.390492] usbserial_generic 1-2:1.0: generic converter detected
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.390658] usb 1-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB0
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.390952] usbserial_generic 1-2:1.1: generic converter detected
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.391068] usb 1-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB1
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.394230] scsi4 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.395689] usbserial_generic 1-2:1.3: generic converter detected
    Jul 11 10:24:16 eee-yard kernel: [  100.395847] usb 1-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB2
    Now we have 3 serial usb interfaces! - our modem is on USB2.
    To check it, just enter:

    Code:
    screen /dev/ttyUSB2
    and at the prompt, ask the modem to identify itself with:

    Code:
    ATI
    Answer should be:

    Code:
    Manufacturer: TCT Mobile International Limited
    Model: HSPA Data Card
    Revision: C1111000
    IMEI: 352079030611766
    +GCAP: +CGSM,+DS,+ES
    
    OK
    Now you may want to skip these passages for the next uses: to do so, you may add a rule with sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/50-alcatel.rules which contains:

    Code:
    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="f000", SYSFS{idVendor}=="1bbb", RUN+="/usr/sbin/usb_modeswitch"
    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="0000", SYSFS{idVendor}=="1bbb", RUN+="/sbin/modprobe usbserial vendor=0x1bbb product=0x0000"
    Check if usb_modeswitch is really in /usr/sbin or maybe in /sbin and/or copy it to the needed location.

    Now of course you want to connect with your new modem!

    NetworkManager is not able to do it without tweaks - basically you need to recompile a kernel module, as is said here in comment nr. 4.

    Otherwise you can do it old-skool style using wvdial from command line. In this case, please pay attention:

    1- if your SIM has a PIN protecting it, is it better to remove the PIN as the process of passing the pin to the sim seems to be buggy and does not work properly;

    2- to me this is now working only if I give a sudo wvdial - possibly some permission issues on the usage of ttyUSB2 that I still have to solve - anyway remember it if it does not work as normal user!

    Anyway first of all you need to sudo gedit /etc/wvdial.conf - here is mine, working to connect me to my mobile operator TIM in Italy :

    Code:
    [Dialer Defaults]
    Init1 = ATZ
    Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
    Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","ibox.tim.it"
    Modem = /dev/ttyUSB2
    Check Def Route = on
    Phone = *99#
    Username = tim
    Password = tim
    Modem Type = Analog Modem
    Stupid Mode = 1
    Baud = 460800
    New PPPD = yes
    ISDN = 0 
    AutoDNS = 1
    Obviously you should change init3 inserting your own apn address.
    Once you created the file, just give a wvdial (or in my case, a sudo wvdial...) and you will see:
    Code:
    Jul 11 10:24:38 eee-yard pppd[4463]: pppd 2.4.5 started by root, uid 0
    Jul 11 10:24:38 eee-yard pppd[4463]: using channel 1
    Jul 11 10:24:38 eee-yard pppd[4463]: Using interface ppp0
    Jul 11 10:24:38 eee-yard pppd[4463]: Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyUSB2
    Once I will fix the issue of only connecting as sudo, the topic is SOLVED

    Meanwhile I am testing this software : even x060s is not from Vodafone, it seems to be able to
    check traffic, connect and disconnect, and maybe send sms.

    Ciao and thanks again to the original spanish guide that showed me how to do it.
    Last edited by michelefrost; July 11th, 2009 at 01:13 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    14

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu [SOLVED]

    Solved it setting suid attribute to pppd:

    Code:
     sudo chmod u+s /usr/sbin/pppd
    Now I am able to connect as normal user with wvdial.


    SOLVED!
    Last edited by michelefrost; July 11th, 2009 at 01:05 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    hi thanks for sharing this with us, actually i have given up using ubuntu coz of this problem, until now. i will try to do wat have u told, if it works ill inform. thanks..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Moralzarzal, Spain
    Beans
    147
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by SHIVANESH View Post
    hi thanks for sharing this with us, actually i have given up using ubuntu coz of this problem, until now. i will try to do wat have u told, if it works ill inform. thanks..
    Hi!

    Sure it works! I have done it with some problems, but works!

    I've noticed that Alcatel X060 gives me less speed than Windows. I don't know what can be.

    Windows gives 1700 kbps and Ubuntu near 300 kbps...

    Any idea?

    regards,
    ^_Pepe_^

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Cannot Connect Alcatel One Touch X060S 3G modem in ubuntu

    wait for X060rc1 release. The installer work for ubuntu and linux based on ubuntu. I will release it a.s.a.p (on early August 2009). Currently supported for ubuntu 8.04 above. No more dizzy.. release as a plan.
    Read at http://malaysian-ubuntu.blogspot.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •