Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

    Hello everyone!

    So I have Ubuntu running sluggish but still somewhat running on my Office computer which is PIII, 256 MB RAM and 566 MHz. After consulting you guys (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195664 I decided to run Puppy Linux, whose Live CD I tried today. It was fast as was promised and was graphically nice too..
    I was able to do most of the customisations I needed to, but then the big Question that was bugging me came back, and that was that how do I enter Windows Domain as a Linux user? Likewise served me well in Ubuntu but what about Puppy Linux now? There seems to be no documentation for it and that is a major headache I believe.

    Please if any of you have any idea post it here.. This is the only hurdle here.. I cross it, I install Puppy Linux in those archaic computers once and for all!

    Thank you all for your time

    P.S. I have posted the problem in Puppy Linux forums too, but I ain't getting any replies so I decided to use the expertise of this large Ubuntu Community.. Hope I am not posting here wrongly
    Interested in bringing out FullCircleMagazine in Hindi? Contact me!
    http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

    Anyone?
    Interested in bringing out FullCircleMagazine in Hindi? Contact me!
    http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    318
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

    Can you explain what it is you want to do? I'm afriad I don't fully understand.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

    Okay here I go again..

    I have this archaic computer running Puppy Linux in office. All other workstations on the network are windows based including the server. I need to join the Windows Network like a normal windows user does, the only difference being that I am a Puppy Linux user.. Now when I was using Ubuntu (actually I still am, Puppy Linux I am just running on Live CD) I used "Likewise" which is actually a combination of Samba and Kerberos, to join the Windows Domain.. I have no Idea what am I supposed to do in Puppy Linux to achieve the same result.. Is it clear now? If yes please reply! Just one and a half weeks to go before my intern ends and I want to implement puppy linux on atleast 5 computers coz Ubuntu runs pretty slow on these.. And I dont like windows..
    Interested in bringing out FullCircleMagazine in Hindi? Contact me!
    http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

    Not getting much useful help from Puppy forums till now! Anyone?
    Interested in bringing out FullCircleMagazine in Hindi? Contact me!
    http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    New Delhi
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Joining Windows Domain as Puppy Linux Client

    Interested in bringing out FullCircleMagazine in Hindi? Contact me!
    http://fullcirclemagazine.org/

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •