Page 10 of 23 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 227

Thread: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    68

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Quote Originally Posted by barryreid View Post
    Ok just to be 100% sure this is what i have done.
    $
    Well, if we have the same machine and the same distribution it should really work. I just tried today and it was fine on my mac.

    Code:
    gg@ggmac:~$ sudo dmidecode -s system-product-name
    MacBookPro5,5
    gg@ggmac:~$ uname -a
    Linux ggmac 2.6.28-13-generic #45-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 30 22:12:12 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    are you using 32bit by any chance?

    EDIT:
    Alright, I tried again. Doesn't work on mine either now :/ must be something wrong with the current snapshot

    EDIT2:
    wrong again. you must retain original folder "sound" in /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel. deleting the original folder is wrong.
    Last edited by crocowhile; July 16th, 2009 at 10:55 PM.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Nope, Im running 32bit and i have the MacBookPro 15'

    root@barry-laptop:/home/barry# sudo dmidecode -s system-product-name
    MacBookPro5,4
    root@barry-laptop:/home/barry# uname -a
    Linux barry-laptop 2.6.28-13-generic #45-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 30 19:49:51 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

    but from what i have heard 5,4 or 5,5 should not make a dif.

    Edit:
    Problem seems to be that if u remove the sound folder u are killing all the soundcore stuff, and without the soundcore thats why it throws up all the errors. I cant even load just snd
    Last edited by barryreid; July 16th, 2009 at 10:37 PM.

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Then how come in your script you rm -rf that folder?

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    68

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Quote Originally Posted by barryreid View Post
    Then how come in your script you rm -rf that folder?
    'cause it was a copy and paste of post #42. Now it's fixed. Sorry about that.

    So, I did:

    Code:
    #delete the entire thing, just to clean up stuff
    sudo rm -rf /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel
    
    #reinstall the kernel
    sudo aptitude reinstall linux-headers-2.6.28-13-generic linux-image-2.6.28-13-generic linux-restricted-modules-2.6.28-13-generic
    
    #launch the script
    ./update_alsa.sh
    
    #reboot and modprobe. Sound works

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    OMG its working... Thanx so so so much... been at this for 3 days since I got my mac on tuesday.

    Edit:
    Its a bit bugy but its working and my headphone jack is working.
    Last edited by barryreid; July 16th, 2009 at 11:26 PM.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Have you by any chance been able to get the restart working. shutdown and all work fine. Just no restart.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    693
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    I followed the guide a few pages back, but now I get "null output" in the sound controls, and modprobing gives me this:

    james@james-laptop:~$ sudo modprobe snd-hda-intel
    [sudo] password for james:
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist, it will be ignored in a future release.
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist, it will be ignored in a future release.
    FATAL: Error inserting snd (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/sound/acore/snd.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error running install command for snd
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_pcm (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/sound/acore/snd-pcm.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_hwdep (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/sound/acore/snd-hwdep.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_hda_codec (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_hda_intel (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    HELP!

    EDIT: From my understanding, removing those alsa files was actually the wrong thing to do, right? How do I get them back? Reinstalling ALSA?
    Last edited by Mazza558; July 16th, 2009 at 11:56 PM.
    Laptop: Inspiron 1501 - AMD64 (Dual Core), 1GB RAM, 120 GB HDD, ATI 1150. Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty testing.
    Beginner's Guide to the Terminal! | FutureLooks 3 on GNOME-Look | Follow me on Twitter!

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Ok here is a step by step guide on how to get it all working.

    First thing you need to do is remove anything in your sound folder so we have a clean start, do this by running:

    Code:
    sudo rm -rf /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/sound
    Next thing you need to do is restor your original kernel files, to do this run the following command:

    Code:
    sudo aptitude reinstall linux-headers-2.6.28-13-generic linux-image-2.6.28-13-generic linux-restricted-modules-2.6.28-13-generic
    After that you will be prompted to restart, Restart Now.

    Once back in ubuntu run the folowing commands:

    Code:
    wget ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/tiwai/snapshot/alsa-driver-unstable-snapshot.tar.gz
    tar xf alsa-driver-unstable-snapshot.tar.gz
    cd alsa-driver-unstable
    sudo ./configure --enable-dynamic-minors  --without-oss --with-cards="hda-intel"
    sudo make
    sudo make install
    Now reboot. Once your system is back up open up your volume control and unmute all the channels and make sure they are turned up.

  9. #99
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    12

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Quote Originally Posted by barryreid View Post
    Ok here is a step by step guide on how to get it all working.

    (...)
    Awesome! Followed the guide and got it working with kernel 2.6.31-3-generic.

    Alas, still no headphones.

    Thanks!

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    693
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Sound on a Macbook Pro 5,5?

    Quote Originally Posted by barryreid View Post
    Ok here is a step by step guide on how to get it all working.

    First thing you need to do is remove anything in your sound folder so we have a clean start, do this by running:

    Code:
    sudo rm -rf /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/sound
    Next thing you need to do is restor your original kernel files, to do this run the following command:

    Code:
    sudo aptitude reinstall linux-headers-2.6.28-13-generic linux-image-2.6.28-13-generic linux-restricted-modules-2.6.28-13-generic
    After that you will be prompted to restart, Restart Now.

    Once back in ubuntu run the folowing commands:

    Code:
    wget ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/tiwai/snapshot/alsa-driver-unstable-snapshot.tar.gz
    tar xf alsa-driver-unstable-snapshot.tar.gz
    cd alsa-driver-unstable
    sudo ./configure --enable-dynamic-minors  --without-oss --with-cards="hda-intel"
    sudo make
    sudo make install
    Now reboot. Once your system is back up open up your volume control and unmute all the channels and make sure they are turned up.
    I've done all this but have no sound still. I get the Cirrus Logic stuff, but it was never muted in the first place...

    edit: got it working! yay! now all we need is the headphone jack to work...

    edit2: is there a way to compile alsa with midi support? I need it for audio production. If not, then I'll have to keep my older laptop around solely for that purpose.
    Last edited by Mazza558; July 17th, 2009 at 12:42 AM.
    Laptop: Inspiron 1501 - AMD64 (Dual Core), 1GB RAM, 120 GB HDD, ATI 1150. Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty testing.
    Beginner's Guide to the Terminal! | FutureLooks 3 on GNOME-Look | Follow me on Twitter!

Page 10 of 23 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •