Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Angry Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

    Hi,

    i am very new to this forum. came with a problem.

    i am using Compaq Presario SR 1630IL desktop. before describing the problem with me, i would like to give the details of my system,

    Intel Pentium 4, 3.06 GHz processor
    Intel 915GV chipset
    1 GB of RAM
    MS-7174 motherboard, Manufacturar MSI, HP/Compaq motherboard name: Graphite-GL8E
    Sound Card: Realtek ALC 880 chipset, High Definition Audio

    I have a dual booting (windows and ubuntu) system with ubuntu 9.4 as the default one.

    Now the problem starts with me.

    In windows I do not have any problem with the sound, but in ubuntu the sound is very less. I have a Creative 2.1 channel speaker system with subwoofer. If I put it to the full volume then only i can listen the sound. latter i have discussed with these guides:

    Code:
    http://www.ubuntugeek.com/simple-guide-to-sound-solutions-for-hardyintrepid-and-jaunty-jackalope-users.html
    Code:
    http://www.ubuntugeek.com/sound-solutions-for-ubuntu-904-jaunty-users.html
    What happened is that after completing the installation and selecting everything to pulse audio sound server, i am being unable to open the padevchooser (the icon is there in Applications / Sounds & Video but is not launching). So i could not go forward and still in the trouble with the sound.

    Checking alsamixer command in terminal shows everything 100%.

    Keenly requesting everybody to help me in this regard so that I can get the sound from my PC in ubuntu.

    With kind regards
    Asamay

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Beans
    1,292

    Re: Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

    Maybe this helps...

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...88#post7454288

    My post there

    And please post your links with the "insert link" method.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

    hi,

    thanks for the reply. now the problem became more complicated. after removing the pulse audio there is no sound at all and terminal is also not recognising the alsamixer command. this error is coming

    ALSA lib pulse.c:272pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused
    alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: Connection refused

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Beans
    1,292

    Re: Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

    What EXACTLY gives
    alsamixer
    in the terminal?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

    this message:


    ALSA lib pulse.c:272pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused

    alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: Connection refused

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Sound problem with Compaq Presario SR 1630IL Desktop

    Here are the full details what I have done with the Pulse Audio using these guides

    http://www.ubuntugeek.com/sound-solu...nty-users.html

    http://www.ubuntugeek.com/simple-gui...ope-users.html

    1. I have installed the packages described
    2. Although Pulse Audio Device Chooser is not opening by clicking on it I could see "Pulse Audio Volume Control" in Applications/ Sounds and Video. Here is the volume control screen shot



    3. I have chosen the default sound card to PulseAudio from System/Preferences/Default Sound Card

    4. Here is the screen shot of System/Preferences/Sound where as mentioned I have changed everything to Pulse Audio Sound Server



    5. Now this is my panel volume control dialogue box



    Everything i have followed whatever was written there. Although I am in dark with the sound - if I turn my speaker volume control to the full volume I can listen little sound. Help me please. Whether I have to use pulse audio or there is another solution for the same.

    Thanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •