Thread: 9.04 Wireless AP b/g/n - ath9k/hostapd only

Beans

9.04 Wireless AP b/g/n - ath9k/hostapd only

Ive been screwing around with this for the last few days, trying to find out how to setup an AP using Ubuntu and an Atheros card. Basically what I wanted was a server to tie in multiple networks for file/printer sharing with a wireless entry point. Im a complete newb with Linux/Ubuntu so this isnt exactly as fleshed out as id like it to be, but it works and turned out to be surprisingly easy. Madwifi was giving me Stuck Beacon problems and it wasnt looking like it would support N mode. I hadnt found an exact how-to, but this post got me started in the right direction: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...2&postcount=17

After a fresh install of 9.04 Desktop:

add the following to the software sources(System>Admin>Software Sources>Third Party):
    Code:
    sudo -i
    apt-get update
    apt-get build-dep hostapd
    apt-get source hostapd
    apt-get install hostapd
    apt-get install linux-backports-modules-`uname -r`
    You need to set your interface up in /etc/network/interfaces:
    Code:
    gedit /etc/network/interfaces

auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
    address [your computer's IP address]
    netmask [your network's subnet mask]
    gateway [IP for your internet router or exit of your network]
    Then you need to configure hostapd. The two main things to config are the interface and driver:

Code:
    interface=wlan0
    driver=nl80211
    Everything else after that is pretty self explanatory in the hostapd config. Reboot and you should be ok.

***To start hostapd:
    Code:
    sudo hostapd -d /etc/hostapd/hostapd.conf
    So far ive been running at N speeds with no problems. Continuous ping tests might have one drop in an hour, nothing serious. Im sure I left something out or didnt do it in the right order, but hopefully this will save some people some trouble