Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cube - 450Mhz, What's the best Version to install?

Beans

Cube - 450Mhz, What's the best Version to install?

I am totally new to ubuntu and I bought a CD on ebay with Edgy EFT over a year ago.
    Anyway, I have a Cube 450mhz and I installed it and it's very cool. I am trying to see if it's faster than the Mac OSX 10.4 that I had running.

My version now is Ubuntu 6.10.

My question is, what is the fastest version I can run on this Cube? I know that sometimes a newer OS will have more bells and whistles but requires more horsepower. I want to get the best performance out of this Cube and maybe install it on my kids' iMac G4s since the OSX 10.5 is very slow for them when accessing the web (lots of flash).

Any advice would be appreciated,

thanks

Beans

Re: Cube - 450Mhz, What's the best Version to install?

6.10 is old and no longer supported. you can try a newer version:
    http://www.xubuntu.org/get#jaunty

but with 450mhz don't expect speed. how much ram do you have?
    ram is the important part in linux.

Beans
    Hidden!

Bear in mind a few things:

1. As far as most Linux distros are concerned, PPC is a red-headed stepchild;

2. Apple PPC hardware support is spotty. Some things work perfectly, but other things have only limited support (video and audio both come to mind, along with wireless, etc.)

3. That machine is fairly low-end, so ideally you should be running XFCE on it as your window manager.

4. I know this is an *Ubuntu* forum, but I would suggest taking a look at either Debian or possibly Fedora. I doubt anything else will run very well on such an old system, if it supports it at all.
    Have you ever found something in the second-to-last place you looked?
    If it seems like I am ignoring you, perhaps I am.
    world:~ mike$ rm -f /earth/united_states/washington/redmond/M$ █

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope