Thread: Computer Science BSC Graduation Thesis help.

Beans

Computer Science BSC Graduation Thesis help.

Hello.

First of all I know this is not a typical thread for a development section, I am sorry.

I am a 2nd year BSC student at a Computer Science Faculty and will be graduating next year. I can’t say I am very gifted in this field or math but I enjoy programming and I find having the ability to create a whole new world at your fingertips amazing. I have two interests: video game development and operating systems engineering and maintenance, though at this time I’m frankly not quite sure what the two really imply as I have barely begun to scratch the surface of the wonderful world of Computer Science.

I have one problem though, I have yet to chose a topic for my graduation thesis and don't have many ideas as the ones that I came up with until now have been rejected on account of either being too bold or not bold enough. The deadline to forwarding a thesis topic is drawing close and I have one idea left: A visual programming application: a game builder, but there already are a couple of quite advanced applications out there and I'm not quite sure what I could contribute to them at my current level. Also, the professor I will be working with is mainly interested in Operating Systems and secondly in Distributed Systems. So I would prefer a topic more along the lines of Operating Systems.

I have been browsing the web looking for inspiration on coming up with an idea but have had little luck. Operating Systems is a huge field and finding a particular topic in such a large sea of interesting topics is quite difficult for a ... newbie. Some ideas were looking for a way to improve the Linux kernel or try to fix some issues that are low on the priority list of the main kernel developer community. But again, there is a lot of information to go through. So I decided to resort to asking for help.