Thread: Logitech Quickcam Again!

Beans

Cool Logitech Quickcam Again!

Hi I am a Noob. I am sure this has come up at least a hundred times before... but somehow i seem to lack the intelligence to understand any of the many posts regarding how to install a Logitech quickcam. Fortunately, the one thing i have learned is that its vital to list out what OS, and config I am running on to get a solution or a worthwhile suggestion. Unfortunately I dont know which quickcam i have as i have lost the box.

Logitech Quickcam:
    Details on the cable tag:
    M/N: V-UAZ27A
    P/N: 861208-0000
    PID: LZ627BP

Details when i try to run with Camorama:
    USB Camera: 046D:08ac

My install:
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope.
    Gnome Desktop
    Compiz Fusion

I need a how to on installing this webcam, and running it with Camorama, Skype, Ekiga and some sites which can stream through my camera (like Indyarocks.com).

Please help this dumb N00B.. Pleas Please Please....
    Last edited by av.kumar85; May 23rd, 2009 at 10:53 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Logitech Quickcam Again!

Used to be, we had to install these but on later versions of Ubuntu, most Logitech Cameras are plug and play. Is there a specific problem you are having or an error that you are encountering?

Beans

to help identify, have you seen:
    http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/40...n?prodcrid=405
    and
    http://www.quickcamteam.net/devices
    [see Logitech UVC Device Feature list by feature (Last update: 2009-01-05) ]

I recently helped a friend buy and install a Logitech Quickcam S7500 for an Ubuntu 8.04 system (Toshiba Satellite with usb 1.1)
    http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/st...&Submit=GO+%3E
    and I plugged it into the usb socket, ran skype, used the Options menu in skype, video devices, 'Test' and it immediately worked. The webcam insitu microphone also worked fine, but I had to use Options, Audio devices, and choose a usb item, not the default item.