Page 34 of 100 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484 ... LastLast
Results 331 to 340 of 991

Thread: Acer Timeline 3810T

  1. #331
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    74

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Did you upgrade or do a fresh install?

    It's possible that some configuration files got left over.

    Both of those problems are fixed for everyone else in Karmic.

  2. #332
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    my status report, using 32bit ubuntu karmic.

    what is working:

    • 4Gb RAM - using pae kernel
    • sata controller - using 'libata.force=noncq' kernel cmd
    • intel GMA videocard (framebuffer, X, composite - everything is ok)
    • disabling ati video (lenovo-acpi.ko)
    • lcd backlight using fn+arrows (worked out of box in karmic)
    • hibernate/resume (out of box)
    • sound output on builtin speakers and on headphone out (still sound volume is low)
    • gigabit ethernet card (attansic 1063 driver in 2.6.31 kernel)
    • wifi works perfect out of box
    • touchpad works perfect out of box (scroll, multifinger tap, disable/enable button)
    • card-reader works out of box
    • bluetooth works out of box, bluetooth switch button fn-f3 works out of box
    • camera works out of box
    • fn-buttons working: brightness, sound volume, display switch, blank screen, media buttons


    what doesn't work:

    • internal mic. i've tried every option in snd_hda_intel driver, still no luck getting mic working - with any catpure devices settings soundcard is listening only to external mic (even with setting input source to int) - will be hopefuly waiting for alsa drivers update
    • with alsa-1.0.20 i am getting a lot of messages 'hda-intel: spurious responce 0x0:0x0' when probing codecs, probe masking and msi doesn't help
    • suspend/resume, or actualy resume portion - device doing cold boot instean waking up
    • switchable video - i haven't found a way to switch graphic output to ati and back to intel, and to disable unused card


    the most annoying problem for now is mic. have anybody found a fix?

  3. #333
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Then the 14 inch has something wrong with it, 'cause the brightness problem is here.

  4. #334
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    I am going out to buy a 3810T..so do you it's better to install Karmic ?
    Right now my priority is to use it with an external monitor.

    Thank you very much

    Ciao
    Luca

  5. #335
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    9

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by doktoreas View Post
    I am going out to buy a 3810T..so do you it's better to install Karmic ?
    Right now my priority is to use it with an external monitor.
    I use 9.04 xubuntu on 3810T with external monitor right now. I've used VGA first and now I'm using HDMI output.
    Everything works well (except resuming from suspend, for sure

    However, I'd suggest you to install karmic as there are some features (like grub2 or ext4) that are better to install from the fresh distro.

  6. #336
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by megaexception View Post
    • switchable video - i haven't found a way to switch graphic output to ati and back to intel, and to disable unused card
    See this.

  7. #337
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by jacktow View Post
    yes, i do use lenovo-acpi module to disable ati card.
    but i cannot make use of ati videocard - no difference what i put in xorg.conf, X always use Intel GS45 integrated graphics.

  8. #338
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Hi sorry, but when using skype I don't get any other option apart from pulseaudio server (local) on skype->sound devices.
    Any ideas?

    thanks again.

  9. #339
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,014
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Quote Originally Posted by JaimeJB View Post
    Hi sorry, but when using skype I don't get any other option apart from pulseaudio server (local) on skype->sound devices.
    Any ideas?

    thanks again.
    Aren't there skype threads for that?

  10. #340
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    10

    Re: Acer Timeline 3810T

    Thanks for this. I have an Acer Travelmate 5625WSMi. Your thread would be very helpful in solving some of my issues.

Page 34 of 100 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •