Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    im trying to connect my g1 to ubuntu. i found a google codes forum that said to to the following:
    Try creating a file called /etc/udev/rules.d/50-android.rules and
    plugging the following line into it:

    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"

    Reload udev's configuration (/etc/init.d/udev reload) and try again as
    a normal user.

    This is on an Ubuntu 8.10 (Intrepid Ibex) installation (64-bit). Works
    fine here after that change. Presumably (given the idVendor tag) this
    will only work for the G1.
    i went to the folder udev/rules.d and notice that the files were text files so i open text editor and enter the infomation that they said (the subsystem=="usb" stuff) and saved it as 50-android.rules in the folder destination called for and used the following code to restart udev:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/udev reload
    which output ok. but i still can't run adb devices it says command not found and i can't see what i did wrong. can someone help?
    im using 9.04 32-bit but i can't see how this would be a problem since the commands given doesn't seem version or bit type specific. any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    i figure out that im suppose to put stuff about the id vendor in the file. i used the code sudo Isusb and got this:
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bb4:0c02 High Tech Computer Corp.
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0408:030c Quanta Computer, Inc.
    my phone is an gtc g1 so i put that info in the file and it now reads:
    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bb4:0c02}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"
    i reloaded udev but the command adb devices still doesn't work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    bump?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    Are you sure your phone is set for USB debugging? Go to Settings->Applications->Development and make sure USB debugging is checked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Beans
    176
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    yeah usb debugging is checked. the problem is when i type in the command adb devies it says bash command doesn't exist.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    Create a rules file.
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/51.android.rules
    copy the line below and paste into this file
    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"
    for the newer distros
    or
    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"
    for backwards compatability with older distros.


    Save and close the file.

    Unplug and replug your device.

    "adb devices" should now show your device
    Last edited by Jay-Jay; June 11th, 2009 at 11:09 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    Just wanted to confirm creating the udev rule above worked for me on Jaunty.

    Thanks for your time,

    Chris C.
    itnet7 #freenode

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    This worked for me as well.
    I am running it with an HTC Ion.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by banana jama View Post
    which output ok. but i still can't run adb devices it says command not found and i can't see what i did wrong. can someone help?
    Your problem isn't with the rules file, it sounds like it isn't even finding the adb tool. Try the command

    Code:
    which adb
    If it can't find it you need to add the location of your android sdk to your PATH.

    edit the file ~/.bashrc in your favorite editor and add the following export commands at the bottom. In the example below I have the SDK in my home directory. (This assumes you are using the bash shell)

    Code:
    export  PATH=${PATH}:${HOME}/SDK/android-sdk-linux_86/
    export  PATH=${PATH}:${HOME}/SDK/android-sdk-linux_86/platforms/android-2.0.1/tools/
    export  PATH=${PATH}:${HOME}/SDK/android-sdk-linux_86/tools/
    After adding those lines run the command

    Code:
    source ~/.bashrc
    which adb
    It should now find adb and then you can see if the rest of your setup is OK.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    on the bleeding edge
    Beans
    1,011

    Re: troble getting adb devices working in ubuntu

    just want to add my solution. i didnt add any exception rule, i just followed these steps:

    Quick Howto for ubuntu:

    - download SDK 1.5 r3
    - enable debug mode on the device: Settings -> Applications ->
    Development -> USB debugging
    - add udev rule:http://developer.android.com/intl/de/guide/developing/
    device.html but use Samsung's vendor id instead: SYSFS{idVendor}
    =="04e8"
    - replace the adb binary by this one: http://floe.butterbrot.org/external/adb.gz
    - to use ddms on a 64 bit system: http://coffeecokeandcode.blogspot.co...ntu-64bit.html

    Patched adb thanks to Flori7500 as mentioned in my previous post.

    Cheers, Olaf


    Working fine on lucid beta.

    Taken from http://groups.google.com/group/andro...589dcd4ce8810d
    Last edited by KhaaL; March 27th, 2010 at 11:29 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •