Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    You don't need it listening on localhost at all.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA-USA
    Beans
    274
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    Didn't work for me. My backend and frontend are on the same computer. When I take out 127.0.0.1 from the backend setup then the frontend gives a bunch of error about how it needs 127.0.0.1. Maybe I could put 2 IP addresses in that field separated by a space or a comma like this:

    127.0.0.1 192.168.2.3
    ><>Marty<><

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    You need to set the frontend to use the real ip address as well.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia PA
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    FYI: w/ Mythbuntu/ MythTV Frontend/ Backend same PC IP 127.0.0.1 I couldn't telnet 127.0.0.1 6546 until I set the Security Pin to "0000" on the backend under Host Address Backend Setup. Connection was refused otherwise and the port didn't show up as "Listen"

    http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/User_Manu..._Backend_Setup

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia PA
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    Linux noob (on an almost vertical climb - taking a breather)

    Anybody Still Looking at this thread? - when I change all the IP addresses on my My backend and frontend from 127.0.0.1 (Frontend/Backend same pc) to my reserved (on router) 192.168.0.19 have errors when rebooting and Frontend won't see Backend etc
    If I change it back it works normally, but I can't get MythRemote on my iOs 5s to connect and I can't - telnet 192.168.0.19 6546

    name@MyHTPC:~$ telnet 192.168.0.19 6546
    Trying 192.168.0.19...
    telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused

    Though as posted above I can telnet to the loopback interface.

    I'm running clean install Mythbuntu 0.25 Ubuntu 12.04 precise LTS w/ Ceton infiniTV PCIe 4

    Any Assistance would be greatly appreciated.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA-USA
    Beans
    274
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    here's what I did in the mythtv backend host address backup screen (general):

    Find out the IP address your router gives mythtv with ifconfig. Mine is defined in my router to give a static address of 192.168.2.9 and then enter it.

    IP address: 192.168.2.9
    IPv6 address: ::1
    Port: 6543
    Status port: 6544
    Security PIN: 0000
    Master Backend
    IP Adress: 192.168.2.9

    I think I just had to change the IP address in 2 places on that page.

    Port: 6543
    ><>Marty<><

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia PA
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    Linuxhippy, thanks for the quick reply. I essentially did just that and received errors on boot up and then Front end doesn't see Back end.

    IP address: 192.168.0.19
    IPv6 address: ::1
    Port: 6543
    Status port: 6544
    Security PIN: 0000
    Master Backend
    IP Adress: 192.168.0.19

    On my front end I entered the same IP 192.168.0.19

    When I reboot I believe I was prompted for "Language" (big colorful screen) - chose "english"

    Then the next screen, I believe, was the Database setup screen for the MythFrontend, but not totally sure. I thought I recalled some sort of "ping" test. I will have to check it again when I get a chance. ( feel like one of my customer - me, "did you write down the error code on the screen?" Customers, "No, you need that?" )


  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA-USA
    Beans
    274
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    sorry that didn't work. The only thing I can think of that you may need updates. I actually re-installed my entire system a couple months ago to 12.04.4 a couple months ago...previously I just had 12.04 which maybe u have now? To get things back the way they were, just put the local address of 127.0.0.1 in the same place in the backend in two spots on that screen.
    ><>Marty<><

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    473
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    When I reboot I believe I was prompted for "Language" (big colorful screen) - chose "english"
    This means mythtv can not contact mysql server.

    Possible reasons:
    - The contents of /home/mythtv/.mythtv/config.xml file are important; used to find mysql server, credentials etc.
    The FE user can (obviously) have a different home folder.
    If this file is missing myth looks into /etc/mythtv somewhere..

    - mysql server is not running (not likely)
    - mysql server is not setup to listen on external (non link local) IP addresses.

    The initial mythtv configuration of combined BE-FE on link-local IP just leads to so many problems.

    Strictly, the remote control port is not "telnet".
    Can just use netcat.
    Last edited by blm-ubunet; April 18th, 2014 at 02:22 AM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia PA
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: MythTV remote telnet port for frontend

    linuxhippy, Sorry, couldn't remember entire release, but I am runing 12.04.04 LTS. I haven't done any of updates yet, afraid it may break the system more than it is now. I did change the IP addresses back and it is working. Thanks again.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •