Thread: How suitable is lisp for this project?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Question How suitable is lisp for this project?

Hi,

I've recently started to learn lisp, I'm a competent C++ programmer and wanted to learn something radically different, and so I turned to lisp. But so far I've only been dawdling my way through "practical common lisp", and have not managed to really get into it because there's not had anything I've actually wanted to write. Now I have an idea, but because I'm such a beginner I have no idea how appropriate lisp is as a language for my problem.

I basically want a fancy web site change notification system, for use when a site changes in a specific way which I'm interested in or just for changes in sites without RSS feeds. Here's a few examples of things I'd want it to do:

• Notify me when a particular web page changes
    • Notify me when there is a change containing specific text (say a band adds to their gig listings page a line containing the word "Birmingham")
    • Notify me when a web site which I have to log into / get into using cookies changes (such as the board games site itsyourturn.com, or a facebook page)

I thought the best way to do this would be for the program to create an RSS feed to notify me of what changes on the net it has detected, since that would be accessible by a broad range of apps, from standard RSS feed readers, to KDE desktop widgets.