Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tweaking - is it a male thing?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Tweaking - is it a male thing?

Just having a debate with my girlfriend about tweaking. Now I've been using Ubuntu since about October judging by my sign-up date here, though I recall starting on 8.04 so maybe September. Anyway, even despite being a relative newbie, I've turned into a tweakaholic. My gnome has gone a bit minimal, with gnome-do providing my dock, auto-hiding to get out the way when I don't need it. My top bar has been stripped to the bare essentials and auto-hides (I even tweaked the speed it does so). I've configured keyboard shortcuts to my favourite apps and now just added swiftfox as firefox is too slow. I've set Expo to come up when I mouse to the bottom right corner. My girlfriend on the other hand, she's happy with a stock ubuntu install with a changed wallpaper. This seems a common thing with most women I know, they'll download a pretty wallpaper or a mouse cursor or free smilies (with free virus) for their (usually windows) machines but beyond that they don't tweak. So is it a male thing?

Beans

Re: Tweaking - is it a male thing?

Being a bit foolish to think that optimizing an operating system is based on a pairing of chromosomes, aren't you?

Some people like to tweak and some don't. Gender does not matter.
    Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams ( 1744 - 1818 ), 1780;

My blog Poetry and More Free Ubuntu Magazine

Beans