Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Genius Mouspen 8x6 under Jaunty Jackalope

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Genius Mouspen 8x6 under Jaunty Jackalope

Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu and the version I'm using is 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope.
    I'd love to get my tablet, a Genius Mousepen 8x6 working on it!

I have already tried using wizardpen:
    http://digitalbluewave.blogspot.com/...epid-ibex.html

I patched the code for the driver myself referring to this:

http://code.google.com/p/linuxgenius/issues/detail?id=1

I got the driver to compile! YAY! I thought. But wait, it's still not working..

As I got to the calibration step, I realized that my tablet was not showing up at all when I executed the command lshal | less

And from there, I don't know how to go about setting up my tablet any further and getting it working.

My tablet's name showed up as UC-LOGIC Tablet WP8060U when I executed grep -i name /proc/bus/input/devices

It's important to me to get this figured out as soon as possible, and I'd greatly appreciate any help. Thanks for listening.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Genius Mouspen 8x6 under Jaunty Jackalope

Hi xSxTxOxRxMx,

Since in Jaunty you are suppose to configure through a .fdi file rather than xorg.conf maybe the .fdi file isn't picking up your tablet. I think your Genius tablet is basically a Waltop tablet and the entry is in the 10-wacom.fdi in /usr/share/hal/fdi/. Take a look at that Waltop subsection. Do you see an identifier like "WP8060U" in the first line or two of it?

Also do you see anything with "xsetwacom list"? How about "xinput --list"?

Beans
    Distro

I didn't find that file. I checked that directory and then did a search, to no avail.

If there is a seperate way to install wizardpen for Jaunty, perhaps I went about it the wrong way using that tutorial. Although, it did state that it currently works with Jaunty.