Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    8

    Smile How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    I used to drag and drop a gnome panel to the side of the screen I wanted but now it seems the powers that be have removed that ability

    Yes I could open the options menu and pick top, bottom, side etc but this only supports single monitors...

    So now I have no way of putting a gnome panel on my second monitor

    I assume the gnome dev's don't use dual monitors?

    or have I missed something?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    521
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    I want to say there locked down by default now.
    Try Right Click > Preferences > Unlock

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    Quote Originally Posted by chris062689 View Post
    I want to say there locked down by default now.
    Try Right Click > Preferences > Unlock
    I have no unlock option on my jaunty?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    7ft above sea level
    Beans
    535
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    There may be a way to get the results you want by playing with the Configuration Editor. Unfortunately I have never used dual-monitors and don't know how this would be done.
    Yesterday it worked.
    Today it is not working.
    Windows is like that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    Quote Originally Posted by baking666 View Post
    I used to drag and drop a gnome panel to the side of the screen I wanted but now it seems the powers that be have removed that ability

    Yes I could open the options menu and pick top, bottom, side etc but this only supports single monitors...

    So now I have no way of putting a gnome panel on my second monitor

    I assume the gnome dev's don't use dual monitors?

    or have I missed something?
    I upgraded to Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope) a few days ago and have the same problem.

    I use a laptop, most of the time at the office with a second monitor plugged in, but also a lot on it's own at home.
    Since the upgrade I can never get the panels where I want them, they just position themself wherever they want.

    If I right click an existing panel and select "New Panel" I never know with display it might end up on.
    If I then select the panel properties and change position to something else, the panel sometimes jump over to the other display. (And sometimes even drag 1-2 other panels with it.)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    i found the 'answer' in this thread:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ve+gnome+panel

    basically, you have to rightclick the panel, go in the properties and uncheck 'Expand'. This allows you to move the panel. When it's in the right position check 'Expand' again and you're set.

    i don't think this is how it's supposed to work but it'll do for now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    8

    Smile Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    Quote Originally Posted by blierp View Post
    i found the 'answer' in this thread:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ve+gnome+panel

    basically, you have to rightclick the panel, go in the properties and uncheck 'Expand'. This allows you to move the panel. When it's in the right position check 'Expand' again and you're set.

    i don't think this is how it's supposed to work but it'll do for now.
    Well not for what i want....for starters it only moves from top to bottom and any location in between. So you can't move to sides or to another monitor

    But thanks for the help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    4

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    Quote Originally Posted by baking666 View Post
    Well not for what i want....for starters it only moves from top to bottom and any location in between. So you can't move to sides or to another monitor

    But thanks for the help
    I was able to move it to the other monitor using this trick. I have separate X screens with Xinerama enabled (Nvidia NVS 140). Once placed on the second monitor I can go to properties -> expand -> and position it on any of the 4 edges.

    What video card do you have?

  9. #9
    skotos's Avatar
    skotos is offline Gee! These Aren't Roasted!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Milano, Italy, EU
    Beans
    132
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    Quote Originally Posted by baking666 View Post
    Well not for what i want....for starters it only moves from top to bottom and any location in between. So you can't move to sides or to another monitor

    But thanks for the help
    If you cannot otherwise grab the panel (this was my case), you have to disable the hide buttons, too: this will give you the space/handles to grab the panel wherever you want and this definitely solves the problem! HTH
    Registered GNU/Linux user: 232677
    Definitely moving to GNU/Linux made me trust Computer Science again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: How do I move gnome panels in jaunty?

    I had the same problem - you can move them more easily than this by holding down "alt" and dragging the panel where you want it.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •