Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    9

    Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

    Hi, I've just updated to Jaunty but just as the desktop should load, i get a load of weird graphical corruptions, and I can't see anything at all on my desktop, and have no idea whether the computer is responding or not. There are instructions on the ATI website on how to install the new driver in a desktop environment, but I can't get that far. Could any one tell me how to install these new drivers completely from the command line?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Beans
    3,803
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by llama_attack View Post
    i get a load of weird graphical corruptions,
    Please see the linked post; are the graphical corruptions the same? In this case, it was detecting the wrong resolution; see if the posted fix works for you, otherwise post back for another way.
    Cheers,PRShah
    Make your own: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Mythbuntu All-in-One Live DVD
    "I never make mistakes; I thought I did, once.. but I was wrong."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

    I think you forgot to link the post

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Beans
    3,803
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by llama_attack View Post
    I think you forgot to link the post
    Oops.. Re: Upgrade from 8.10 (64-bit) to 9.04 causes system to not fully boot
    Cheers,PRShah
    Make your own: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Mythbuntu All-in-One Live DVD
    "I never make mistakes; I thought I did, once.. but I was wrong."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

    Nope, Did nothing to fix it, exactly the same corruptions

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Jaunty ATI Radeon HD3400 no desktop

    Ok, I've worked around the problem, I had to uninstall fglrx and then reinstall xorg, so now I have a working desktop. No compiz, but I can deal with that until they fix fglrx. Thanks for your help

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •